Ega promotes entrepreneurship among UAE youth

Aluminium giant sponsors innovation camps (“I-Camps”) in partnership with INJAZ UAE
United Arab Emirates: In line with its commitment to invest in the socio-economic growth and development of the UAE as a responsible business, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) sponsored two innovation camps (“I-Camps”) organised by INJAZ UAE in April 2016. Designed to help attendees learn business skills and nurture creative thinking in the business world, I-Camps comprise half-day entrepreneurial training workshops that challenge UAE National youths (aged 11 to 24) to find the most innovative solution to a business challenge. Various exercises and activities are used to develop critical thinking and problem-solving abilities.

This year’s first EGA-sponsored I-Camp was held at Al Salam School in Dubai on 21 April, for school students. The second EGA-sponsored I-Camp took place in the DUBAL Training Centre (at the EGA Jebel Ali Operations premises in Dubai) on 28 April, and was attended by students from UAE University, Higher Colleges of Technology - RAK Women’s College and Ajman University of Science & Technology. EGA employees from various departments volunteered their time and knowledge to mentor the 100 students who attended the two I-Camp workshops, helping the youngsters to expand their horizons during a fun-based introduction to entrepreneurship.

Commenting on the sponsorship, Khalid Buhumaid (Senior Vice President, Government Relations and official spokesperson of EGA) said, “EGA works with government, NGO(s) and other civic bodies to identify specific needs for continuous social development, thereby enabling meaningful and active engagement with local communities. Specific emphasis is placed on local economic development, as well as capacity building, education, health services, environmental protection or initiatives that support good governance in society in support of a holistic view of economic sustainability. Mentoring the UAE’s youth is vitally important to the future of the UAE, with I-Camps helping to bridge the gap between the world of work and education.”

EGA, through its operating subsidiaries, has sponsored seven I-Camps since 2013, both in terms of kind support and employees volunteering as mentors. In total, more than 580 students from across the UAE have participated in the EGA supported I-Camps.

INJAZ UAE is a member of the Junior Achievement Worldwide (“JAW”) programmes which prepare students to enter the world of work and succeed through interactive, impactful and practical mentoring sessions. By partnering with INJAZ UAE, EGA is helping to create an enduring legacy in the communities where it operates.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تشجع روح ريادة الأعمال لدى الشباب الإماراتي

عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي قام برعاية إثنين من مخيمات الإبداع، بالتعاون مع مؤسسة "إنجاز الإمارات"خلال أبريل 2016.
الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: تماشيا مع التزامها بالاستثمار في نمو وتطور مسيرة التنمية الإجتماعية والإقتصادية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وإنطلاقا من تحمل مسؤولياتها كشركة مسؤولة تجاه المجتمع، قامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برعاية إثنين من مخيمات الإبداع، التي نظمتها مؤسسة "إنجاز الإمارات"، خلال شهر أبريل 2016. وتضمنت فعاليات مخيمي الإبداع، التي تم تصميمها لمساعدة المشاركين على تعلم المهارات التجارية وتعزيز التفكير الإبداعي في عالم الأعمال، ورش عمل تدريبية حول ريادة الأعمال لمدة نصف يوم، حيث فرضت تحديا أمام شباب الإمارات (الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 11 و24 عاما) لإيجاد الحل الأكثر ابتكارا لأحد تحديات الأعمال. وتم إستخدام تمارين وأنشطة مختلفة لتطوير جوانب التفكير النقدي وقدرات حل المشكلات لدى الشباب المشاركين.

وتم تنظيم مخيم الإبداع الأول لهذا العام برعاية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في مدرسة السلام في دبي يوم 21 أبريل لطلاب المدارس، فيما تم أيضا برعاية الشركة تنظيم مخيم الإبداع الثاني، في مركز تدريب دوبال (موقع عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي) يوم 28 أبريل، وحضره طلاب من جامعة الإمارات وكلية رأس الخيمة للطالبات-كليات التقنية العليا وجامعة عجمان للعلوم والتكنولوجيا. وقد تطوع موظفو شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من مختلف الإدارات بوقتهم ومعارفهم لإرشاد 100 طالبا حضروا ورشات عمل مخيمي الإبداع، ومساعدة الشباب على توسيع آفاقهم خلال عرض تعريفي مشوق حول ريادة الأعمال.

وتعليقا على الرعاية، قال خالد بوحميد، نائب أول الرئيس للعلاقات الحكومية والمتحدث الرسمي باسم الشركة :" تعمل شركة الإمارات العلمية للألمنيوم مع الحكومة والمنظمات غير الحكومية والهيئات المدنية الأخرى للتعرف على الاحتياجات المحددة للتنمية الاجتماعية المتواصلة، وبالتالي تعزيز المشاركة النشطة والواعية في المجتمعات المحلية. ويتم التركيز بوجه خاص على دعم التنمية الاقتصادية المحلية، وكذلك بناء القدرات، والتعليم، والخدمات الصحية، وحماية البيئة والمبادرات التي تدعم الإدارة الرشيدة في المجتمع، في إطار نظرة شاملة للإستدامة الإقتصادية. إن توجيه وإرشاد الشباب يمثل أهمية حيوية لمستقبل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وبالتالي تساعد مخيمات الإبداع على سد الفجوة بين عالمي العمل والتعليم".

وقد قامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، عبر شركاتها التشغيلية، برعاية سبعة من مخيمات الإبداع منذ العام 2013، سواء من ناحية الدعم العيني أو عبر تطوع موظفيها كمرشدين للشباب، وإجمالا، شارك أكثر من 580 طالب وطالبة من مختلف أنحاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في مخيمات الإبداع التي قامت برعايتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن مؤسسة "إنجاز الإمارات"، هي عضو "برامج إنجازات شباب العالم"، التي تؤهل الطلاب لدخول عالم العمل وتحقيق النجاح من خلال جلسات الإرشاد التفاعلية والعملية المؤثرة، ومن خلال الشراكة مع مؤسسة "إنجاز الإمارات"، تساعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على بناء إرث دائم في المجتمعات التي تعمل فيها.