EGA celebrates earth hour 2016 at its UAE-based operations

This is the eighth consecutive year of EGA’s involvement in the global movement
United Arab Emirates: On Saturday 19 March 2016, the region’s largest primary aluminium producer Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) will join forces with the global community to tackle climate change by switching off non-essential lights and equipment at its business premises for one hour at 20:30 to mark Earth Hour. Employees have also been encouraged to mark the event in their personal capacity, at home. Direct participation in Earth Hour at EGA’s Jebel Ali Operations from 2008 to 2015 has saved 25.04 MW (equivalent to 12,520 kg CO2).

“EGA is passionate about supporting important global causes by protecting the environment and contributing meaningfully to the communities where we operate is among EGA’s core values,” says Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO: EGA). “We act as guardians of the environment and consider this an investment in helping us achieve our aspiration for a better future. Earth Hour is a perfect opportunity to encourage positive behaviours from all EGA employees, customers, suppliers and contractors and thereby build a more sustainable environmental culture.”

To drive awareness and engagement among EGA employees, attention has been focused on Earth Hour this week. A campaign with calls-to-action driven through posters, emails and SMS reminding all employees to participate in Earth Hour culminated today, Thursday 17 March, with 300 employees wearing Earth Hour t-shirts and employees being reminded to turn off non-essential lights and office equipment at the end of their shift; as well as to do the same at home for Earth Hour itself.

Since March 2015, EGA has pro-actively supported the “Beyond Earth Hour” initiative by holding an Earth Hour on the last day of every month. The savings achieved from March to December 2015 amounted to 96,971 kWh, equivalent to 40,189 kg CO2.

Also in support of “Beyond Earth Hour”, the EGA Green Life recycling campaign is being refreshed this year to further promote recycling habits within EGA’s premises. The Green Life campaign began in Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as EGA Jebel Ali) several years ago and is being introduced for the first time at Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as EGA Al Taweelah). As part of the campaign, 149 recycling bins for plastic, paper, aluminium cans, glass, cartridge, batteries and e-waste have been placed in parking lots, canteens and buildings at both sites to give easy access to employees to recycle, not only in the offices but also to bring their recyclables from home.

In addition, over the last three years, EGA Jebel Ali has planted 1,300 trees that will reduce CO2 emissions by 28.3 tonnes per year.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تحتفل بساعة الأرض 2016 بموقعي عملياتها في الدولة

للعام الثامن على التوالي
الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أضخم منتج للألمنيوم الأولي في المنطقة، عن تضافر جهودها يوم السبت الموافق 19 مارس 2016، مع المجتمع الدولي للتصدي لظاهرة التغير المناخي من خلال إطفاء الأضواء والمعدات غير الضرورية بموقعي عملياتها، لمدة ساعة واحدة في تمام الساعة الثامنة والنصف مساءا بمناسبة ساعة الأرض. وتحرص الشركة أيضاً على تشجيع الموظفين للاحتفال بهذه المناسبة بصفتهم الشخصية، في منازلهم. وقد أسفرت المشاركة المباشرة لموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بفعاليات ساعة الأرض منذ العام 2008 عن توفير 25.04 ميجا وات من الكهرباء، ما يعادل 12,520 كيلو جراماً من ثاني أوكسيد الكربون.

وقال عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة:"إن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم شغوفة بدعم القضايا العالمية الهامة عن طريق حماية البيئة والمساهمة الفعالة في دعم المجتمعات التي نعمل فيها، والتي هي من إحدى القيم الرئيسية للشركة. كما أننا نعمل كحراس للبيئة ونعتبر ذلك إستثمارا يساعدنا على تحقيق طموحاتنا من أجل مستقبل أفضل، وتمثل ساعة الأرض فرصة مثالية لتشجيع السلوكيات الإيجابية لدى جميع موظفي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وعملائها ومورديها ومقاوليها، وبالتالي بناء ثقافة بيئية أكثر استدامة".

ولرفع مستوى الوعي والمشاركة بين صفوف موظفي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، تم تركيز الإهتمام هذا الأسبوع على فعاليات ساعة الأرض، وبلغت حملة الشركة الرامية إلى حث الموظفين على إتخاذ التدابير اللازمة، عبر توزيع الملصقات ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل النصية القصيرة لتذكير جميع الموظفين بالمشاركة في ساعة الأرض، ذروتها اليوم، الخميس الموافق 17 مارس، مع قيام 300 موظفاً بإرتداء قمصان تحمل شعار ساعة الأرض، وتذكير الموظفين بضرورة إطفاء الأضواء غير الضرورية والمعدات المكتبية بنهاية نوبة عملهم، والقيام بنفس الأمر في منازلهم أثناء ساعة الأرض.

ومنذ مارس 2015، دعمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل إستباقي نشط مبادرة "ما بعد ساعة الأرض"، عبر تنظيم ساعة للأرض خلال اليوم الأخير من كل شهر، حيث أسفرت جهود الشركة في الفترة من مارس حتى ديسمبر 2015، عن توفير 96,971 كيلو وات/ساعة من الكهرباء، ما يعادل 40,189 كيلو جراماً من ثاني أوكسيد الكربون.

وفي إطار دعم مبادرة "ما بعد ساعة الأرض"، تم أيضاً هذا العام تحديث حملة "الحياة الخضراء" لإعادة التدوير في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، لترسيخ وتعزيز عادات إعادة التدوير بموقعي عمليات الشركة. وكانت فعاليات حملة "الحياة الخضراء" قد إنطلقت بشركة دبي للألمنيوم "دوبال"، التي تعرف أيضا بإسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي، منذ سنوات عدة، ويتم إطلاقها للمرة الأولى بشركة الإمارات للألمنيوم "إيمال"، التي تعرف أيضا بإسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة. وكجزء من الحملة، تم وضع 149 صندوقاً لإعادة تدوير المنتجات البلاستيكية والورقية وعلب الألمنيوم والزجاج، وخراطيش الطابعات، والبطاريات والنفايات الإلكترونية في مواقف السيارات والمطاعم والمباني في كلا موقعي الشركة لتوفير سهولة وصول الموظفين لصناديق إعادة التدوير، ليس فقط في المكاتب ولكن لتمكينهم أيضاً من جلب المواد القابلة للتدوير من منازلهم.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وعلى مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية، قام موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بزراعة 1300 شجرة من شأنها أن تقلل من انبعاثات ثاني أوكسيد الكربون بنسبة 28.3 طن سنوياً.