EGA protects the environment, for the future

Biodiversity initiatives at aluminium giant’s core operating sites support World Environment Day 2016.

United Arab Emirates:Committed to protecting the environment wherever it operates, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) – one of the world’s five top aluminium producers and a leading global player in the aluminium industry – pro-actively safeguards the biodiversity in areas surrounding its operations. This is evidenced through ongoing initiatives that conserve wildlife, such as the dedicated turtle and gazelle protection programmes implemented at EGA’s core midstream smelter operations in the UAE.

These efforts are fully aligned with World Environment Day (“WED”), celebrated on 5 June 2016, under the theme “Go Wild for Life”. The theme, chosen by the United Nations Environment Programme (“UNEP”), aimed to encourage everyone to celebrate all species under threat and take personal action to help safeguard them for future generations.

“As a responsible organisation, EGA upholds the principles of sustainability and strives continually to contain the impact of our operations on the environment,” explains Salman Abdulla (Senior Vice President: Health, Safety, Sustainability, Environment & Quality). “We install best available technologies to limit our emissions; proactively manage resource consumption levels – from raw materials through energy to water; and work tirelessly to protect the nation’s natural wealth of fauna and flora. We do these things, and more, to ensure that future generations can still enjoy a healthy planet.”

Turtle protection

Sea turtle populations around the globe are threatened with extinction, having been heavily over-harvested and had their habitat increasingly destroyed by mankind. Increased coastal development, urbanisation and industrialization have caused a decline in the global population of marine turtles. With the coastline of the Arabian Peninsula being a significant turtle breeding area, especially for threatened species such as the Greenback and Hawksbill turtle, protecting these marine creatures is high on the UAE agenda.

It is also high on the agenda at EGA’s Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah Operations, where formal Turtle Protection Programmes are in place. At Jebel Ali, a set of procedures and guidelines is in place on how to handle sea turtles that become trapped in settling chambers including maintaining a database of the various species trapped. Injured turtles are sent to the Sea Turtles Rehabilitation Unit in Burj Al Arab for treatment and healthy individuals are released back into the sea.

At Al Taweelah, the site’s Emergency Response Team (“ERT”) has set up a programme to protect the turtles that come on to the beach to lay eggs. For example, having noticed that light pollution from the site was causing the hatchlings to head towards the plant instead of the sea, the ERT installed horseshoe-shaped catchment nets that open in the direction of the sea. Daily inspections are conducted for evidence of any visits to the beach area, and an annual beach map is maintained to record tracks of all turtle visits as well as the location of each nest. In addition, the ERT engages in annual beach maintenance and preparations for each of the nesting seasons, including a major beach clean-up campaign each year. Thanks to these efforts, several hundred turtles have successfully hatched on the Al Taweelah beach during the last five years.

The Al Taweelah ERT has also established a close working relationship with the Dubai Turtle Sanctuary, which operates within Madinat Jumeriah, in terms of rehabilitation of rescued turtles and for expert advice.

Gazelle protection

Immediately adjacent to the Al Taweelah site is a Sheikh’s Palace, the grounds of which include a large gazelle conservation area. Acknowledging that fluoride emissions from the smelter may harm the gazelles (given that fluoride may cause fluorosis of teeth and bones), the site monitors the fluoride level by carrying out regular vegetation analysis in the gazelles’ habitat; commissions visual inspection of vegetation by a third party consultant; and works collaboratively with the farmers for ongoing monitoring of the gazelles to detect early signs fluorosis.

“Monitoring the gazelles and the vegetation are key factors in determining the fluoride content in the environment as well as mitigating the potential impact,” says Abdulla. “Regular discussions are therefore held with the palace in-charge about general observations regarding gazelle health and any abnormal development.”

As importantly, stringent emission controls within both of EGA’s smelter operations ensure that fluoride emissions are kept as low as possible. The health of the vegetation around the premises testifies to this. Indeed, an expert vegetation consultant reported that “Overall, the generally excellent health of the plants is a credit (to EGA). It is the result of very low emission rates, low rates of fugitive emissions and … pro-active management of the plants. It is quite a remarkable achievement in such an extreme environment and much better than I have seen at other smelters.”

Fauna translocation

Further evidence of EGA’s efforts to protect the biodiversity in the surrounding environment is the Terrestrial Fauna Translocation initiative implemented prior to the development of Al Taweelah Operations (then referred to as “EMAL”). This involved the capture, translocation and release of terrestrial fauna from the EMAL Project area (primarily near the Al Taweelah Power & Desalination plants) to appropriate habitat locations within the emirate of Abu Dhabi before construction commenced on the project site.

The EMAL Environment Impact Analysis study identified several species to be translocated, namely Ethiopian Hedgehog, Cape Hare, Spiny-tailed lizard, and four species of Geckos. The translocation methodology included pre-capturing preparations, such as track and dropping observation and recording, animal capture and trapping; and then transporting the animals to suitable sites approved by the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi (“EAD”). The animals were also fitted with tracking devices to track and observe their whereabouts, as well as for future identification.

In line with the UAE’s Vision 2021 to build a “Green Economy for Sustainable Development”, EGA remains committed to protecting the environment and biodiversity by continuously assessing the impact from its operations, undertaking best practices for sustainable development, and improving environment awareness among employees and stakeholders. “We measure our horizons in decades and generations,” says Abdulla. “We act as guardians of the environment and go the extra mile, considering the investment as fundamental to creating a better future for everyone.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ... حماية البيئة من أجل مستقبل أفضل للجميع

مبادرات التنوع البيولوجي في مواقع عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي تدعم اليوم العالمي للبيئة 2016.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدةفي إطار إلتزامها بحماية البيئة أينما تعمل، تحرص شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، التي تعد واحدة من أكبر خمسة منتجين للألمنيوم الأولي في العالم والشركة الرائدة بمجال صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية، على حماية التنوع البيولوجي في المناطق المحيطة بعملياتها بشكل إستباقي ونشط، ويتضح ذلك من خلال المبادرات المتواصلة للمحافظة على الحياة البرية، مثل برنامجيها المخصصين لحماية السلاحف والغزلان، اللذين تم تطبيقهما بموقعي عمليات الشركة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وتتماشى تلك الجهود بشكل كامل مع مبادرة اليوم العالمي للبيئة، الذي تم الإحتفال به يوم 5 يونيو 2016، تحت شعار "تحمس من أجل الحفاظ على الحياة"،  حيث يهدف الشعار، الذي اختاره برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، إلى الإحتفال بجميع الأنواع المهددة بالإنقراض، واتخاذ إجراءات وخطوات شخصية للمساعدة في الحفاظ عليها للأجيال القادمة.

ويقول سلمان عبد الله، نائب أول الرئيس: الصحة والسلامة والاستدامة والبيئة والجودة :"إنطلقا من كونها شركة تتحلى بالمسؤولية، تتمسك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمبادئ الاستدامة وتسعى باستمرار لاحتواء تأثير عملياتها على البيئة، حيث نقوم بإستخدام أفضل التكنولوجيات المتاحة للحد من الإنبعاثات، والعمل بشكل استباقي على إدارة مستويات استهلاك الموارد، بدءا من المواد الخام ووصولا إلى الطاقة والمياه. والعمل بلا كلل من أجل حماية ثروات الدولة الطبيعية من الحيوانات والنباتات، حيث نحرص على القيام بجميع هذه الأمور، وأكثر، لضمان تمتع الأجيال القادمة بكوكب معافى وصحي".

حماية السلاحف

تتعرض أعداد السلاحف البحرية في جميع أنحاء العالم لخطر الإنقراض، بعد أن تم بشكل كبير صيدها بشكل جائر، وتسارع وتيرة تدمير مواطنها الطبيعية بشكل متزايد من قبل البشر. كما تسبب نمو مشروعات التطوير الساحلي  والتحضر والتصنيع في إنخفاض أعداد السلاحف البحرية في العالم. ونظرا لأن ساحل شبه الجزيرة العربية يعد منطقة هامة وكبيرة لتكاثر السلاحف، خاصة للأنواع المهددة بالانقراض مثل السلحفاة ذات الظهر الأخضر وسلحفاة منقار الصقر، فإن حماية هذه المخلوقات البحرية تحتل أهمية رئيسية قصوى على أجندة عمل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

كما أنها تحتل أيضا أهمية قصوى على رأس أجندة موقعي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة وجبل علي، حيث تم وضع برامج رسمية لحماية السلاحف، ففي موقع عمليات جبل علي، تم وضع مجموعة من الإجراءات والمبادئ التوجيهية حول كيفية التعامل مع السلاحف البحرية التيتحتجز في غرف تثبيت المياه، بما في ذلك الحفاظ على قاعدة بيانات عن مختلف الأنواع المحتجزة، كما يتم إرسال السلاحف المصابة إلى وحدة إعادة تأهيل السلاحف البحرية في برج العرب لتلقي العلاج، وإعادة إطلاقها بعد تلقي العلاج مرة أخرى إلى مياه البحر.

وفي موقع الطويلة، وضع فريق الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ بالموقع، برنامجا لحماية السلاحف التي تأتي إلى الشاطئ لتضع بيضها. فعلى سبيل المثال، بعد أن لاحظ الفريق أن التلوث الضوئي في الموقع كان يتسبب في توجه السلاحف الصغيرة إلى موقع المصهر بدلا من توجهها نحو البحر، قام فريق الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ بالموقع بتركيب شباك تجميع على شكل حدوة حصان تفتح في اتجاه البحر، ويتم إجراء عمليات التفتيش اليومية بحثا عن أدلة على زيارة أي من السلاحف إلى منطقة الشاطئ، كما تتم المحافظة على خريطة سنوية الشاطئ لتسجيل زيارات جميع السلاحف،فضلا عن موقع كل عش. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يشارك فريق الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ بالموقع في الصيانة السنوية للشاطئ والاستعدادات لمواسم التعشيش، بما في ذلك حملات كبرى لتنظيف الشاطئ كل عام. وبفضل هذه الجهود، فقست عدة مئات من السلاحف بنجاح على شاطئ موقع الطويلة خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية.

كما رسخ فريق الاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ بموقع الطويلة علاقة عمل وثيقة مع محمية دبي للسلاحف، التي تعمل ضمن مدينة جميرا، فيما يتعلق بإعادة تأهيل السلاحف والإستعانة بالخبرات.

حماية الغزلان

يقع قصور أحد الشيوخ بشكل متاخم لموقع الطويلة، حيث يضم محيط القصر محمية كبيرة للغزلان. وإذ تدرك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أن انبعاثات الفلورايد من المصهر قد تضر الغزلان (بالنظر إلى أن الفلورايد قد يسبب تسمم الأسنان والعظام بالفلور)، يقوم الموقع بمراقبة مستوى الفلورايد من خلال التحليل الدوري للغطاء النباتي في موطن الغزلان، وتنفيذ عمليات فحص بصري للغطاء النباتي من قبل استشاري مستقل، والعمل بالتعاون مع المزارعين للمراقبة المستمرة للغزلان للكشف المبكرعنأي علامات تسمم بالفلور.

ويضيف سلمان عبدالله :"يعد رصد الغزلان والنباتات من العوامل الرئيسية في تحديد محتوى الفلورايد في البيئة، وكذلك التخفيف من الأثر المحتمل، ولذلك يتم عقد مناقشات منتظمة مع مسؤول القصر حول الملاحظات العامة المتعلقة بصحة الغزلان وأية تطورات غير طبيعية".

وبنفس القدر من الأهمية، تضمن ضوابط الانبعاثات الصارمة في كل من عمليات مصهري شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم  المحافظة على معدل انبعاثات الفلورايد عند أدنى مستوى ممكن، وهو ما يشهد عليه مدى نضارة النباتات في جميع أنحاء مباني الشركة، حيث أشار أحد خبراء النباتات بالقول :"بشكل عام،  فإن الصحة الممتازة للنباتات لهي مفخرة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم فهي نتيجة إنخفاض معدلات الإنبعاثات المتسربة والإدارة الإستباقية للنباتات، وهو ما يمثل إنجازا رائعا في مثل هذه البيئة القاسية وأفضل بكثير مما رأيت في مصاهر أخرى ".

إعادة توطينالحيوانات البرية

يتجسد المزيد من الأدلة على جهود شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لحماية التنوع البيولوجي في البيئة المحيطة في مبادرة إعادة توطين الحيوانات البرية التي تم تنفيذها قبل تطوير موقع عمليات الطويلة ( الذي أشير إليه بعد ذلك بإسم إيمال)، وشمل إمساك ونقل وإعادة توطين الحيوانات البرية من منطقة مشروع إيمال (بالقرب من محطتي الطويلة لتوليد الكهرباء وتحلية المياه)، إلى مواقع موائل مناسبة في إمارة أبو ظبي قبل بدء أعمال ابناء في موقع المشروع.

وحددت دراسة إيمال لتحليل الأثر البيئي تأثر  العديد من الأنواع بعملية إعادة التوطين، وهي القنفذ الأثيوبي، والكيب هير، والسحلية ذات الذيل الشائك، وأربعة أنواع أخرى من السحالي. وتضمنت منهجية إعادة التوطين الاستعدادات لما قبل عملية الإمساك مثل المسار وملاحظات عملية التتبع والإسقاط والتسجيل، والإمساك بالحيوانات، ومن ثم نقلها إلى المواقع المناسبة التي وافقت عليها هيئة البيئة - أبو ظبي. كما تم أيضا تزويد الحيوانات بأجهزة تتبع لتتبع ومراقبة أماكن وجودها، فضلا عن سهولة عملية التصنيف المستقبلي.

وتماشيا مع رؤية الإمارات العربية المتحدة 2021 لبناء "اقتصاد أخضر لتنمية مستدامة"، تظل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ملتزمة بحماية البيئة والتنوع البيولوجي من خلال التقييم المستمر لتأثير عملياتها، وتبني أفضل الممارسات لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة، وتحسين الوعي البيئي بين الموظفين و أصحاب المصلحة، حيث يختتم سلمان عبدالله تصريحاته بالقول :"نقوم بقياس آفاقنا خلال عقود وأجيال، ونعمل كحراس للبيئة ونبذل قصارى الجهد، مؤمنين بأن إستثماراتنا في هذا المجال هي ركيزة أساسية لبناء مستقبل أفضل للجميع".