EGA named Global Challenger by Boston Consulting Group

UAE’s industrial champion acknowledged for resilience in volatile times.

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) – the UAE’s industrial champion and one of the world’s top five primary aluminium producers – has been named one of the top rapidly globalizing companies in the Boston Consulting Group (“BCG”) 2016 Global Challengers report. This is EGA’s second citing, having also been included in the 2014 edition of the report.

The BCG Global Challengers report focuses on the innovative business models, strategies and challenges arising from emerging markets; and is the outcome of an analytical study into how the companies in the report are performing. As with prior editions, the BCG Global Challengers 2016 report identifies the top 100 companies that are vying for leadership of key industries and driving global economic growth.

“EGA’s repeat inclusion in the report recognises the impact of our global reach in promoting the UAE across the world, as well as our substantial contribution to the nation’s economic diversification strategy to reduce dependence on the energy sector,” says Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO of EGA), explaining that EGA’s 2.4 million tonnes per annum (“tpa”) production capacity makes the UAE the world’s fourth largest primary aluminium producer.  “Indeed, the value-add of the aluminium industry to the UAE manufacturing sector is enormous in terms of GDP contribution, exports and employment opportunities,” he adds.

The BCG report states that home-grown global challengers like EGA know how to win in volatile and uncertain times. Specific mention is made of their resilience during global expansion despite slowdowns in macroeconomic growth, drops in commodity and currency prices, the crash of equity markets and the rise of global geopolitical risks.

“This is a valued accolade, given that the global aluminium industry has been facing substantial challenges including global macro-economic uncertainty, growth slowdown in China, a stronger US Dollar and falling oil prices,” says Kalban. “Having been officially incorporated in Q1 of 2014, EGA is a young business. By drawing on the 40-year legacy provided by our operating assets while continuing to invest in innovation and talent we have achieved sustained success, to the benefit of our stakeholders and the UAE as a whole.”

EGA’s core midstream assets – Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as Jebel Ali Operations) and Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as Al Taweelah Operations) – produce superior quality, high performance primary aluminium products for use in the electronics, aerospace, automotive, construction, industrial, transportation, packaging and printing sectors.  More than 90 per cent of EGA’s annual production is exported to about 300 customers in at least 60 countries, primarily in Asia, the Middle East, North Africa, Europe and the Americas.

EGA also owns Guinea Alumina Corporation (“GAC”), which is developing a 12 million tpa bauxite mine in Guinea, West Africa; and Al Taweelah Alumina, which is currently developing a 2 million tpa alumina refinery in the UAE. These upstream investment projects, once complete, will not only consolidate EGA’s position as a vertically integrated business, but also secure critical resources for EGA’s midstream operations. In addition, EGA has plans for significant local growth and international expansion.

EGA is one of three UAE companies included in the BCG 2016 Global Challengers report, the others being Etihad Airways and Etisalat.

الصادر عن مجموعة بوسطن الإستشارية الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ضمن قائمة "أسرع الشركات العالمية نموا" وفق تقرير التنافسية العالمي 2016

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة:تم إختيار شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، التي تعد المعلم الصناعي الأبرز في الإمارات، وإحدى أكبر خمس شركات لإنتاج الألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، ضمن قائمة "أسرع الشركات العالمية نموا" لتقرير التنافسية العالمي 2016، الصادر عن مجموعة بوسطن الإستشارية، وذلك للمرة الثانية، حيث تم إختيار الشركة في نسخة العام 2014 من التقرير.

ويركز تقرير التنافسية العالمي على نماذج الأعمال المبتكرة والاستراتيجيات والتحديات الناشئة من الأسواق الناشئة، وهو ثمرة دراسة تحليلية حول أداء الشركات الواردة في التقرير.  وكما هو الحال في الإصدارات السابقة، يحدد تقرير التنافسية العالمي 2016 لمجموعة بوسطن الإستشارية أكبر 100 شركة تتنافس على قيادة الصناعات الرئيسية ودفع عجلة النمو الاقتصادي العالمي.

وفي إطار إشارته إلى أن الطاقة الإنتاجية السنوية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم البالغة 2.4 مليون طن متري تجعل من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة رابع أكبر منتج للألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، أوضح عبدالله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي :"يعكس إختيار شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم المتكرر ضمن التقرير مدى تأثير تواجدنا وإنتشارنا العالمي في الترويج لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في جميع أنحاء العالم، وكذلك مساهمتنا الكبيرة في دعم استراتيجية التنويع الاقتصادي في الدولة لتقليص الاعتماد على قطاع الطاقة"، ومضى كلبان بالقول :"بلا شك، فإن القيمة المضافة لصناعة الألمنيوم بقطاع الصناعات التحويلية إلى دولةالإمارات العربية المتحدة هائلة جدا من ناحية المساهمة في دعم الناتج المحلي الإجمالي والصادرات وفرص العمل".

<pويشير تقرير التنافسية العالمي لمجموعة بوسطن الإستشارية إلى أن الشركات المحلية الأكثر تنافسية على مستوى العالم مثل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تعرف جديا كيفية تحقيق الفوز خلال أوضاع السوق المضطربة، حيث تم تسليط الضوء بشكل خاص على ما تتمتع به من مرونة خلال التوسع العالمي على الرغم من تباطؤ النمو الاقتصادي الكلي، وإنخفاض أسعار السلع والعملات، وانهيار أسواق الأسهم وارتفاع المخاطر الجيوسياسية العالمية.

وأضاف عبدالله كلبان :"يمثل هذا التصنيف قيمة كبرى خاصة عند الأخذ بعين الإعتبار ما تواجهه صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية من تحديات هائلة بما في ذلك عدم اليقين في الاقتصاد الكلي العالمي، وتباطؤ النمو في الصين وارتفاع الدولار الأميركي وانخفاض أسعار النفط"، مضيفاً :"تعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم شركة شابة نسبيا خاصة مع تسجيلها رسميا في الربع الأول من 2014، ولكن من خلال البناء على إرث التميز الذي حققته أصولنا التشغيلية على مدار 40 عاما، وفي نفس الوقت مواصلة الإستثمار في تعزيز جوانب الإبتكار والمهارات، نجحنا في تحقيق النجاح المستدام لفائدة مساهمي الشركة ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ككل".

يشار إلى أن مصهري شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم -دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال، التي تعرف أيضا بإسم عمليات جبل علي)، والإمارات للألمنيوم، (إيمال، التي تعرف أيضا بإسم عمليات الطويلة)، يقومان بإنتاج الألمنيوم الأولي عالي الجودة للإستخدام في قطاعات الإلكترويات والفضاء والسيارات والإنشاءات والتطبيقات الصناعية والمواصلات والتغليف والطباعة، ويتم تصدير أكثر من 90% من إنتاج الشركة السنوي إلى نحو 300 عميلاً في نحو 60 دولة، غالبيتهم في آسيا وأوروبا والشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا والأمريكتين.

كما تمتلك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضا مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن التي تقوم بتطوير منجم لتعدين البوكسيت بطاقة 12 مليون طن متري سنويا في جمهورية غينيا في غرب إفريقيا، ومصفاة الطويلة للألومينا، حيث يتم حاليا بناء مصفاة لتكرير الألومينا بطاقة 2 مليون طن متري سنويا في الإمارات. وعند إكتمالها، من المقرر أن تسهم مشروعات الشركة الإستثمارية بقطاع التعدين والإنتاج ليس فقط في تعزيز مكانة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم كشركة متكاملة بقطاع الألمنيوم، بل وأيضا تأمين المواد الخام الضرورية لعمليات مصهري الشركة. وفضلا عما سبق، تمتلك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم خططا كبرى للنمو محليا والتوسع عالميا.

<وتعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم واحدة من بين ثلاث شركات إماراتية يتضمنها تقرير التنافسية العالمي 2016 لمجموعة بوسطن الإستشارية إلى جانب طيران الإتحاد وإتصالات.