2016 Summer Training Programme Commences at EGA

Work experience improves skills and enhances career opportunities for Emirati students.

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) has commenced its annual Summer Training Programme, providing business exposure and work experience opportunities for Emirati high school and university students. Running from 10 July to 11 August 2016 at EGA’s UAE operating midstream subsidiaries – Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as Jebel Ali Operations) and Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as Al Taweelah Operations) – the EGA Summer Training Programme is a key component of the aluminium giant’s efforts to maximise its impact on the social and economic development of the UAE.

This year, 26 students from various high schools, colleges and universities across the country have joined the EGA Summer Training Programme and have been deployed in areas relevant to the discipline they are studying – notably Operations, HR, Finance, Marketing & Sales, HSSEQ, Administration and Supply Chain. As in prior years, each student has been allocated to a specific supervisor to train them, monitor their progress towards their training goals and provide constructive feedback. The students will also have opportunities to participate in training courses on presentation skills, team work and time management. Upon completing the programme, all trainees will receive a certificate and a gift.

“EGA consciously invests the company’s time, financial resources and expertise to support the education and career development of the UAE’s younger generation,” says Ahmed Al Shamsi (Executive Vice President, Human Capital). “The Summer Training Programme is the perfect platform to introduce students to the aluminium industry as well as to business ethics and practices.”

A proudly Emirati company and the UAE’s industrial champion, EGA is committed to recruiting, retaining and developing UAE National talent across a number of prioritised roles within the organisation. EGA’s ongoing Emiratization Strategy targets both experienced candidates and entry level recruits through a range of initiatives such as the Summer Training Programme, Work Placement / Internships, a National Graduate Training Programme, as well as National Pre-Employment Training courses in various disciplines; complemented by highly competitive salary and benefit packages.

Through these initiatives, EGA actively contributes to the creation of a stable labour market and a productive workforce that revolves around UAE citizens – thereby supporting fulfilment of the UAE Vision 2021. Currently, the proportion of UAE Nationals among the highlighted positions identified in EGA’s Emiratization strategy is 31 per cent, while EGA’s five-year goal for Emiratization is to reach 42 per cent. Both measures are well above the UAE’s industry average of 4 per cent in the private sector.

إنطلاق برنامج التدريب الصيفي 2016 في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم

المبادرة السنوية تسهم في تحسين المهارات وتعزز الفرص الوظيفية للطلاب الإماراتيين.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: بدأت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برنامجها السنوي للتدريب الصيفي للعام 2016، بهدف توفير فرص التدريب العملي للطلاب الإماراتيين من المدارس الثانوية والجامعات. ويمثل برنامج التدريب الصيفي، الذي ينعقد في الفترة من 10 يوليو 11 أغسطس بموقعي عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الإمارات وهما شركة دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال والتي تعرف أيضا بإسم عمليات جبل علي)، وشركة الإمارات للألمنوم (إيمال، والتي تعرف أيضا بإسم عمليات الطويلة)، مكونا أساسيا من جهود عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي لدعم مسيرة التنمية الإجتماعية والإقتصادية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ويشارك في برنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للتدريب الصيفي لهذا العام 26 طالبا من المدارس الثانوية والكليات والجامعات من مختلف أنحاء الدولة، حيث تم توزيعهم على الإدارات ذات الصلة بمجالات دراساتهم، خاصة قسم العمليات والموارد البشرية والمالية والتسويق والمبيعات والصحة والسلامة والأمن والبيئة والجودة والإدارة وشبكة التوريدات. ووفق التقليد المتبع، تم تخصيص مشرف لكل طالب وذلك لتدريب وتوجيه الطلاب نحو تحقيق أهداف التدريب وتوفير آراء بناءة. وستتاح الفرصة أيضا للطلاب للمشاركة في دورات تدريبية حول مهارات العرض والعمل الجماعي وإدارة الوقت. وبنهاية البرنامج سيتسلم المتدربون شهادة مشاركة وهدية.

وقال أحمد الشامسي، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي للموارد البشرية :"تستثمر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بوعي وقتها ومواردها المالية وخبراتها لدعم مسيرة التعليم والتطوير الوظيفي لجيل الشباب الإماراتي، وبالتالي يعد برنامج التدريب الصيفي منصة مثالية لتعريف الطلاب على صناعة الألمنيوم وأخلاقيات وممارسات العمل".

وفي ضوء إعتزازها وفخرها بجذورها الإماراتية وكونها المعلم الصناعي الأبرز في الدولة، تلتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتوظيف وإستبقاء وتطوير المواهب الإماراتية في مجموعة من المناصب ذات الأولوية داخل الشركة، كما تستهدف إستراتيجية التوطين المتواصلة للشركة المرشحين سواء الجدد أو من أصحاب الخبرات، من خلال مجموعة من المبادرات مثل برنامج التدريب الصيفي، وبرامج التدريب العملي/ التدريب الداخلي، وبرنامج تدريب الخريجين المواطنين، وكذلك الدورات التدريبية الوطنية لما قبل التوظيف في مختلف التخصصات، فضلا عن الرواتب والمزايا التنافسية.

ومن خلال هذه المبادرات، تساهم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم  بشكل فعال في خلق سوق عمل مستقر وقوى عاملة منتجة تتمحور حول مواطني الإمارات، وبالتالي المساهمة في تحقيق رؤية الإمارات 2021. وفي الوقت الراهن يشغل مواطنو الإمارات نسبة 31% من  إجمالي المناصب التي حددتها إستراتيجية التوطين في الشركة، كما تهدف خطة الشركة الخمسية للوصول بنسبة التوطين إلى نسبة 42%، وهما النسبتان اللتان تتجاوزا بشكل كبير المتوسط الصناعي الإماراتي البالغ 4% بالقطاع الخاص.