Environment track record of EGA continues to strengthen

EGA adds to environmental certifications and awards with win from the Emirates Appreciation Award for the Environment 2016

United Arab Emirates: Environmental protection is at the forefront of all activities at Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”). This commitment is demonstrated through the company’s long-term goals and values, which include a determination to “protect the environment wherever we operate.” As testament to this, the environmental initiatives implemented by EGA have earned the company recognition on a local and global level, with the most recent example being The Emirates Appreciation Award for the Environment 2016, where EGA Jebel Ali Operations won in the large industry category.

The award win acknowledges EGA management’s belief in a sustainable business development philosophy, as explained by Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO: EGA), “EGA operates a deep commitment to sustainability. We measure our horizons in decades and generations, we act as guardians of the environment, and we go the extra mile. We consider this an investment in helping us achieve our aspiration for a better future.”

Providing context to EGA Jebel Ali’s latest accolade Kalban added, “From an environmental perspective, minimising harmful emissions and the adoption of world-class practices are central to all EGA’s activities. The combination has led to significant reductions in the company’s impact on the environment, many of which have set industry benchmarks.”

EGA Jebel Ali benchmarks its Environment, Health and Safety (“EHS”) performance against the best companies internationally and has achieved and/or improved environment performances across all parameters. Notable environmental initiatives and achievements from EGA’s Dubai-based smelter include:

  • The construction of a mini solar field that generates enough renewable energy to power the requirements of the EGA Jebel Ali residential area during daylight hours.
  • The close monitoring of Greenhouse gas (“GHG”) emissions in association with the International Aluminium Institute (“IAI”) to ensure levels comply with international standards. Initiatives that have directly impacted GHG emissions include: the GTX project, Evaporative Cooling project, Potline AE Frequency/Duration Reduction initiatives, Regenerative Burners CDM project and the Compressed Air System Optimization project.
  • Over the past 35 years, EGA Jebel Ali has developed advanced reduction cell technologies (DX and DX+) that not only increase productivity but also reduce the operations’ impact on the environment through improved energy efficiency and reduced emissions levels.
  • The EGA Jebel Ali smelter has met or outperformed virtually all measures relating to the environment, specifically with regards to perfluorocarbon (“PFC”) emissions.
  • Demonstrating its pioneering position, EGA Jebel Ali was the first aluminium smelter in the Gulf region to develop and implement a comprehensive Carbon Management Strategy and CDM projects.
  • EGA Jebel Ali’s dedicated Waste Management department carefully follows “Reduce, Recycle and Reuse” principles whereby all process waste is assorted, recycled and sold. In addition, all employees are educated on the importance of waste management through on-going awareness initiatives.
  • EGA Jebel Ali has implemented international best Environment, Health, Safety, Fire and Security (“EHSFS”) Management systems and is certified to ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO/TS 16949, ISO/IEC 20000-1, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO 22301, ISO 29990, ISO 50001 as well as holding OHSAS 18001 certification.
  • EGA Jebel Ali’s products have been declared suitable for sustainable building practices, as per the criteria defined by the US Green Building Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (“LEED”) rating system and the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen (“DGNB”, the German Sustainable Building Council).
  • The smelter is also an active member of the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy (“DSCE”) and has whole-heartedly adopted the directives and measures of DSCE in support of the Dubai Government’s efforts to minimize energy consumption in Dubai and in fulfilment of the Emirate’s 2030 Energy Strategy.
  • A member of UNESCO since 2004, EGA actively supports UNESCO’s “Rashid the Recycler” environmental education programme and regional office.

The Emirates Appreciation Award for the Environment is a biennial award programme organised by the Zayed International Foundation for the Environment to recognise and promote the values of sustainable living and environmentally conscious initiatives in the UAE community. The award programme is held under the patronage of HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai).

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تفوز بجائزة الإمارات التقديرية للبيئة 2016

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة:  تحتل حماية البيئة موقع الصدارة في جميع أنشطة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ويتجلى هذا الالتزام في أهداف وقيم الشركة طويلة المدى، والتي تتضمن تصميماً راسخاً على "حماية البيئة أينما نعمل." وكشهادة متميزة على ذلك، حصدت المبادرات البيئية التي تنفذها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على مُختلف أوسمة وجوائز التقدير والإشادة، على المستويين المحلي والعالمي، وكان آخر مثال على ذلك، فوز عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بجائزة  الإمارات التقديرية للبيئة عام 2016، عن فئة المؤسسات الصناعية الكُبرى.

ويمثل الفوز بالجائزة تأكيداً لإيمان إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بفسلفة التطوير المُستدام للأعمال، وذلك حسب تصريحات عبدالله كلبان، العضو المُنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة الذي أوضح بالقول :"تعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وفق إطار من الإلتزام العميق تجاه الإستدامة، حيث نقوم بقياس ورسم آفاقنا المُستقبلية لعقود وأجيال قادمة، ونعمل كحراس للبيئة، باذلين أقصى الجهود التي نعتبرها  إستثماراً يساعدنا على تحقيق طموحنا من أجل مستقبل أفضل".

وفي إطار تسليط الضوء على السياق العام الذي جاءت في إطاره الجائزة الأخيرة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي، يضيف عبدالله كلبان :"من منظور بيئي، تمثل الجهود الرامية إلى تقليل الإنبعاثات الضارة وإعتماد أرقى المُمارسات عالمية المُستوى، ركيزة محورية لجميع أنشطة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، حيث أسفرت هذه التركيبة الناجحة عن تحقيق تخفيضيات كبيرة في آثار الشركة على البيئة، حيث وضع الكثير منها معايير صناعية جديدة".

ويقوم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بمُعايرة معدلات أدائه للبيئة والصحة والسلامة في مُقابل أفضل الشركات العالمية، ونجح في تحقيق و/أو تحسين معدلات الأداء البيئي على جميع المُستويات، وتتضمن قائمة أبرز المُبادرات والإنجازات البيئية لمصهر الشركة في دبي، ما يلي:

  • قامت عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بموقعجبل علي  بتشييد وتدشين حقل صغير للطاقة الشمسية، يولًد طاقة متجددة كافية لتوفير متطلبات الطاقة في المنطقة السكنية بالموقع خلال ساعات النهار.
  • الرصد الدقيق لإنبعاثات غازات الدفيئة بالتعاون مع المعهد الدولي للألمنيوم لضمان مُستويات تتوافق مع المعايير الدولية. تتضمن المُبادرات التي أثرت مباشرة على تقليص انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة: مشروع GTX، ومشروع التبريد التبخيري، ومبادرات تقليص زمن/تردد التيار،  ومشروع آلية التنمية النظيفة لشعلات الإحتراق المتجددة ومشروع تعظيم أداء نظام الهواء المضغوط.
  • على مدار الـ35 عاماً الماضية، قام موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي بتطوير تقنيات متطورة لإختزال خلايا الألمنيوم (DX وDX+)، والتي لا تساعد فقط على زيادة الإنتاجية، بل أيضاً تقليص تأثير العمليات على البيئة عبر كفاءة الطاقة الُمحسنة ومستويات الإنبعاثات المُنخفضة.
  • نجح موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي تقريبا في تلبية أو تجاوز جميع التدابير المتعلقة بالبيئة، وتحديداً فيما يتعلق بإنبعاثات الهيدروكربون المشبع بالفلور.
  • في إستعراض جلي لمكانته الرائدة، كان موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي أول مصهر ألمنيوم في منطقة الخليج يقوم بوضع وتنفيذ استراتيجية شاملة لإدارة الكربون ومشاريع آلية التنمية النظيفة.
  • تتبع إدارة " النفايات" بموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي، بعناية مبادىء "الخفض وإعادة تدوير وإعادة استخدام" والتي يتم بموجبها جمع نفايات العمليات وإعادة تدويرها وبيعها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتم تثقيف جميع الموظفين حول أهمية إدارة النفايات، عبر مبادرات التوعية المتواصلة.
  • يُطبق موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي أفضل أنظمة الإدارة العالمية للبيئة والصحة والسلامة والحريق والأمن ، وهو حائز على شهادات الأيزو 9001،والأيزو 14001، والأيزو/تي إس 16949، والأيزو/آي إي سي 20000-1، والأيزو/آي إي سي 27001، والأيزو 22301، والأيزو 29990، والأيزو 50001، فضلا عن شهادة إعتماد أو إتش إس آيه إس 18001.
  • تم الإعلان عن ملائمة منتجات موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي لممارسات البناء المستدامة، حسب نظام تصنيف برنامج الريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئيللمجلس الأمريكي للمباني الصديقة للبيئة، وبرنامج المجلس الألماني للمباني المستدامة.
  • عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بموقعجبل علي هي عضو مؤسس للمجلس الخليجي للألمنيوم، ولها ممثلون في لجان البيئة والصحة والسلامة، حيث تمكن عضوية المجلس الخليجي للألمنيوم موقع الشركة في جبل علي من معايرة أنشطته مقابل "أفضل الممارسات".
  • المصهر هو أيضاً عضو نشط بمجلس دبي الأعلى للطاقة، وقام بكل اخلاص بإعتماد وتبني  توجيهات ومعايير  مجلس دبي الأعلى للطاقة دعماً لجهود حكومة دبي الهادفة  للحد من استهلاك الطاقة في دبي واستراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2030.
  • منذ العام 2004، كانت عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بموقعجبل علي، عضواً في منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (اليونسكو)، وقامت بشكل نشط بدعم برنامج التعليم البيئي "راشد وإعادة التدوير" التابع لليونيسكو ودعم مكتبها الإقليمي.
  • منذ العام 1997، كانت عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بموقعجبل علي، عضواً نشطاً في مجموعة الإمارات للبيئة، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تدعم التطور والتقدم المستدام لدبي ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن جائزة الإمارات التقديرية للبيئة هي برنامج جوائز يقام كل سنتين، تُنظمه مؤسسة زايد الدولية للبيئة لتكريم وتشجيع قيم المعيشة المُستدامة والمُبادرات الصديقة للبيئة في المجتمع الإماراتي. يقام برنامج الجائزة تحت رعاية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم (نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء، وحاكم دبي).