Emirates Global Aluminium exports proprietary technology to Aluminium Bahrain

First sale of in-house developed technology outside the UAE for nation’s industrial flagship
United Arab Emirates: Recognised in the global aluminium industry as a valuable provider of smelting technologies, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) this week concluded the sale of its in-house developed, proprietary DX+ Ultra Smelting Technology to Aluminium Bahrain BSC (“Alba”) for the latter’s Line 6 expansion project, marked by the signature of the associated Technology Licence Agreement. The sale marks a major milestone for EGA and the UAE. Not only is this the first sale of EGA’s advanced, state-of-the-art technology; but also the first such sale outside the UAE – the combination affirming the country’s place among the world’s innovation-driven nations.

“Since inception in 1979, EGA has been committed to continuous innovation in the aluminium smelting process so as to produce the world's best quality aluminium products while achieving maximum operating efficiencies,” says Abdulla Kalban (EGA Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer). “Our culture of value-adding innovation provided both the foundation and inspiration for ongoing in-house development of enhanced proprietary smelting technologies that deliver higher production volumes, improved current efficiencies and environmental benefits; and the industrial-scale installation of our technologies in EGA’s smelter operations in the UAE. We are very proud of the results of our technology development efforts, and extremely pleased that the performance capabilities of our proprietary technologies have been recognised externally – as evidenced by Alba’s selection of DX+ Ultra Smelting Technology.”

DX+ Ultra Smelting Technology is the next generation version of EGA’s proven DX+ Smelting Technology, which was developed at EGA subsidiary Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as EGA Jebel Ali). DX+ Smelting Technology cells built in the Eagle pilot line at the DUBAL plant began operating at 420 kA in 2010, with the amperage being increased in successive increments to 450 kA by the end of 2013. The exceptional performance capabilities of DX+ Smelting Technology have since been demonstrated at EGA subsidiary Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as EGA Al Taweelah), where 444 DX+ cells were installed in the 1.7 kilometre-long EMAL Potline 3 constructed during EMAL Phase II. EMAL Potline 3 was fully commissioned by mid-2014 and has been operating steadily at 455 kA since 11 March 2015 (it is ultimately expected to operate at 460 kA in the near future). EMAL, which uses EGA smelting technologies throughout its smelter operations, is currently the largest single-site primary aluminium producer in the world, with a capacity of 1.4 million tonnes per year.

Research and technology development have been hallmarks of EGA since the inception of the business. Considerable resources – both human intellect and financial investment – have been dedicated to these activities over the years. DX+ Ultra Technology is the result of the latest efforts to develop lower CAPEX and lower energy, high amperage reduction cells. Alba initially selected DX+ Smelting Technology in December 2012 for its Line 6 Bankable Feasibility Study; and confirmed the selection when the project go-ahead was announced in early-June 2015. The decision to upgrade to DX+ Ultra Smelting Technology followed on the strength of the demonstration cells’ performance.

The multi-billion dollar Alba Line 6 expansion project will entail a new 1.5 kilometre long potline that will boost Alba’s annual production by an additional 540,000 tonnes per year. Construction of the new Line 6 is expected to start in the first half of 2016, with first hot metal scheduled for early 2019.

تأكيدا لمكانتها العالمية كموفر بارز لتقنيات صهر الألمنيوم "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" توقع إتفاقية لتصدير تقنيتها المتطورة من طراز DX+ Ultra لصهر الألمنيوم لشركة ألمنيوم البحرين

الإتفاقية الجديدة تمثل المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها بيع هذه التقنية المتطورة خارج الإمارات، ما يعزز مكانة الدولة ضمن قائمة أفضل الدول إبتكارا تقنيا على مستوى العالم.
الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في إطار ما تتمتع به من مكانة رائدة على مستوى صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية كموفر بارز لتقينات صهر الألمنيوم، وضعت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم هذا الأسبوع اللمسات النهائية على إتفاقية بيع تقنيتها المتطورة والمطورة داخليا لصهر الألمنيوم من طراز DX+ Ultra لصالح شركة ألمنيوم البحرين (ألبا)، للإستخدام في مشروعها لتوسعة خط الإنتاج رقم 6، مع قيام الطرفان بتوقيع إتفاقية ترخيص التقنية ذات الصلة. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذه الإتفاقية الجديدة لا تمثل فقط أول إتفاقية لبيع هذه التقنية المتطورة من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، بل أيضا المرة الأولى التي تشهد بيع تلك التقنية خارج حدود دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ما يعزز مكانة الدولة ضمن قائمة أفضل الدول إبتكارا تقنيا على مستوى العالم.

وقال عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة :"منذ تأسيسها في العام 1979، إلتزمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تجاه الإبتكار المتواصل بعمليات صهر الألمنيوم بهدف إنتاج أفضل منتجات الألمنيوم جودة على مستوى العالم، وتحقيق أقصى درجات الكفاءة التشغيلية"، ومضى عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان بالقول :"إن ثقافتنا للإبتكار ذو القيمة المضافة وفرت ركيزة وإلهاما لعمليات التطوير الداخلي لتقنيات إختزال الألمنيوم المتطورة التي تمتلك الشركة براءة إختراعها، وتوفر مستويات إنتاجية أعلى، وتحسين كفاءة التيار الكهربائي والمزايا البيئية، وتركيب وإستخدام تقنياتنا على نطاق صناعي بعمليات مصهري الشركة في الإمارات. إننا نفخر كل الفخر بنتائج وثمار جهودنا لتطوير التقنية، كما أننا سعداء جدا بهذا التقدير والإعتراف الخارجي بقدرات الأداء التي تتمتع بها تقنياتنا، كما يشهد بذلك إختيار شركة ألمنيوم البحرين لتقنية DX+ Ultra لصهر الألمنيوم".

يشار إلى أن تقنية DX+ Ultra لصهر الألمنيوم تمثل الجيل التالي من تقنية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم المثبتة من طراز DX+ التي تم تطويرها بموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي (الذي يعرف أيضا بإسم شركة دبي للألمنيوم -دوبال)، حيث بدأت خلايا من طراز DX+ لصهر الألمنيوم، تم بنائها في خط "إيجل" الإختباري بمصهر دوبال، العمل عند مستوى 420 كيلو أمبير في العام 2010، وهو المستوى الذي تم رفعه من خلال زيادات متعاقبة إلى مستوى 450 كيلو أمبير بنهاية العام 2013. وقد أثبتت منذ ذلك الحين قدرات الأداء الإستثائية لتقنية DX+ Ultra لصهر الألمنيوم بموقع عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة (الذي يعرف أيضا بإسم شركة الإمارات للألمنيوم- إيمال)، حيث تم تركيب 444 خلية بتقنية DX+ Ultra لصهر الألمنيوم في خط إنتاج إيمال رقم 3 الذي يبلغ طوله 1.7 كيلو مترا، وتم بنائه خلال المرحلة الثانية من المصهر، والذي تم تشغيله بالكامل في منتصف عام 2014. يعمل خط الإنتاج حاليا بشكل مستقر عند مستوى 455 كيلو أمبير منذ يوم 11 يناير 2015 (ومن المتوقع أن يعمل عند مستوى 460 كيلو أمبير في المستقبل القريب). إيمال، والتي تستخدم تقنيات الصهر لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، في جميع عملياتها، حاليا هي أكبر موقع منفرد لصهر الألمنيوم في العالم، بسعة 1.4 مليون طن سنويا.

إن البحث وتطوير التكنولوجي هما بصمات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم منذ بداية المشروع، ولتطوير تقنية إختزال خلايا الألمنيوم، كرس على مر السنين موارد بشرية ومالية كبيرة، أسفرت عن تطوير وتصميم تقنية DX+ Ultra، التي تتميز بإنخفاض النفقات الرأسمالية وإنخفاض إستهلاك الطاقة وإرتفاع مستوى الأمبيرية.

وكانت شركة ألمنيوم البحرين قد إختارت مبدئيا تقنية DX+ لصهر الألمنيوم في شهر ديسمبر 2012 لمشروع دراسة الجدوى المصرفية لخط الإنتاج رقم 6، وأكدت عملية الإختيار مع الإعلان عن تنفيذ المشروع في أوائل شهر يونيو 2015، وقد جاء قرار شركة ألمنيوم البحرين بالترقية لتقنية DX+ Ultra لصهر الألمنيوم على خلفية معدلات الأداء القوية التي أظهرتها خلايا هذه التقنية.

ويتضمن مشروع توسعة خط الإنتاج رقم 6 في شركة ألمنيوم البحرين والذي تبلغ إستثماراته عدة مليارات من الدولارات، خط إنتاج جديد بطول 1.45 كيلو مترا، من المقرر أن يعزز الطاقة الإنتاجية السنوية لشركة ألمنيوم البحرين بنحو 540 ألف طن إضافية سنويا. ومن المتوقع أن تبدأ الأعمال الإنشائية في خط الإنتاج رقم 6 الجديد خلال النصف الأول من عام 2016، وموعد إنتاج أول معدن ساخن في أوائل عام 2019.