EGA to showcase world-leading process and propriety technologies at TMS 2016

Aluminium giant to promote latest developments to the global industry

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) will showcase the UAE’s innovation credentials internationally this month, by presenting a series of technical papers at The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society 145th Annual Meeting and Exhibition (“TMS 2016”). The annual event takes place this year in Nashville, Tennessee, USA from 14 to 18 February; and will again gather business leaders, engineers and scientists in the minerals, metals, and materials fields from around the world.

Speaking ahead of TMS 2016, Abdalla Al Zarouni (Director, Technology Development & Transfer: EGA) said, “TMS is the main technical forum for the aluminium industry worldwide and gives participants the opportunity to share technical research and collaborate with industry peers to help shape the future of the aluminium sector. The leading player in the Middle East and one of the top five primary aluminium producers in the global aluminium industry, EGA implements the most modern processes and technologies – many of which are developed in-house. TMS therefore also provides opportunities to meet potential clients for EGA’s proprietary smelting technologies. EGA has participated at TMS for several years to take advantage of these benefits.”

A total of six papers will be presented by EGA at the event, along with two joint papers developed in collaboration with the University of New South Wales (“UNSW”), entitled:

  • Evolution of crust breaker control for DX and DX+ Ultra Technologies.
  • The successful implementation of DUBAL DX+ Technology at EMAL.
  • Journey towards world-class operational effectiveness at DUBAL.
  • Management and performance of the largest gas treatment centre at EMAL potline during major shutdown of main exhaust fans.
  • The challenge to supply consistent alumina quality to all pots on increasingly longer and higher capacity potlines.
  • A novel method for processing sodium reduction skimming station residue.
  • Studies on anode pre-heating using individual anode signals in Hall-Héroult reduction cells (joint paper with UNSW).
  • Detection of local cell conditions based on individual anode current measurements (joint paper with UNSW).
    EGA’s expertise in technology development will be further promoted through an exhibition stand where the TMS 2016 delegates can learn more about the innovative work being done across the business. At individual level, Nadia Ahli (Lead Engineer – Process Development/Technology Development & Transfer at EGA) is set to receive an “LMD Young Leaders Professional Development” award during TMS 2016, in recognition of her contribution to technological innovation.

EGA’s vision is to provide the global economy with sustainable material of the highest quality, building a legacy of excellence for the UAE and the world. From inception in 1979, EGA has been committed to continuous innovation in aluminium smelting so as to produce the world’s best quality aluminium products while achieving maximum operating efficiencies. The proprietary reduction technologies developed in-house by EGA over the years have made the company a respected competitor in this sector. Indeed, EGA’s new-generation DX+ Technology and DX+ Ultra Technology rank among the most efficient reduction cell technologies currently available.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تستعرض تقنياتها المُبتكرة خلال الإجتماع السنوي الـ145 لجمعية المعادن والفلزات والمواد

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: تعتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الشهر الجاري تسليط الضوء على المكانة الرائدة التي تتمتع بها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بمجال الإبتكار التقني على الصعيد العالمي، عبر تقديم مجموعة من أوراق العمل التقنية خلال الإجتماع والمعرض السنوي الـ145 لجمعية المعادن والفلزات والمواد TMS 2016، الذي ينعقد بمدينة ناشفيل، بولاية تينيسي الأمريكية في الفترة من 14 إلى 18 فبراير، و الذي يجمع قادة الأعمال والمهندسين والعلماء بقطاعات المعادن والفلزات، والمواد، من جميع أنحاء العالم.

وفي معرض حديثه قُبيل إنعقاد إجتماع ومعرض TMS 2016، قال السيد/ عبدالله الزرعوني، مدير إدارة تطوير ونقل التقنية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"يعد الإجتماع والمعرض السنوي لجمعية المعادن والفلزات والمواد TSM، المنتدى التقني الرئيسي لصناعة الألمنيوم على مستوى العالم، ويعطي الفرصة للمشاركين لتبادل البُحوث التقنية والتعاون مع الشركات المُماثلة للمُساعدة في صياغة وتشكيل مستقبل قطاع الألمنيوم، وإنطلاقا من كونها الشركة الرائدة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وواحدة من أكبر خمسة مُنتجين للألمنيوم الأولي على مستوى العالم، تتبنى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أحدث العمليات والتقنيات تطوراً، والتي تم تطوير الكثير منها داخلياً، ومن ثم يمنحنا هذا الإجتماع فُرصة للقاء عملاء محتملين لتقنيات الشركة الخاصة لصهر الألمنيوم، حيث شاركنا بهذا الحدث التجاري العالمي لسنوات عدة، بهدف الإستفادة من مثل هذه الفُرص".

ومن خلال الحدث، ستقوم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتقديم ست أوراق عمل تقنية، إلى جانب ورقتي عمل مشتركتين بالتعاون مع جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز بعنوان:

  • تطور التحكم في نظام تكسير قشرة تقنيتي DXوDX+ Ultra.
  • التطبيق الناجح لتقنية دوبال DX+ في إيمال.
  • رحلة نحو كفاءة تشغيلية عالمية المستوى في دوبال.
  • إدارة وأداء أكبر مركز لمعالجة الغاز في خط إنتاج إيمال أثناء توقفات التشغيل الكبرى لمراوح العادم الرئيسية.
  • تحدي توفير جودة ألومينا متسقة لجميع بوتقات الصهر في خطوط إنتاج أطول وذات طاقة إنتاجية أكبر، بشكل متزايد.
  • طريقة مُبتكرة لمعالجة مخلفات إختزال الصوديوم بمحطة القشط.
  • دراسات حول التسخين المبدئي لقُضبان الأنود باستخدام إشارات الأنودات الفردية في خلايا إختزال الألمنيوم العاملة بطريقة "هال-هيرولت" (ورقة عمل مُشتركة مع جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز).
  • الكشف عن ظروف الخلية على أساس القياسات الفردية لتيار قضبان الأنود (ورقة عمل مُشتركة مع جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز).

وسيتم أيضا الترويج لخبرات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمجال تطوير التقنيات عبر جناح الشركة بالمعرض والذي سيتيح للوفود المُشاركة التعرف عن كثب على مختلف الأعمال والتطبيقات المُبتكرة التي تم تنفيذها بمختلف مجالات عمل الشركة. وعلى المستوى الفردي، فمن المقرر أن تتسلم السيدة/ نادية أهلي، مهندس أول، تطوير العمليات/تطوير ونقل التقنية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، جائزة LMD للتطوير المهني للقيادات الشابة ، على هامش إجتماع ومعرض TSM 2016، تقديراً لإسهاماتها بمجال الإبتكار التقني.

وتتجسد رؤية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في تزويد الإقتصاد العالمي بمواد مُستدامة من أعلى مُستويات الجودة بهدف بناء إرث التميز لدولة الإمارات العربية المُتحدة والعالم. ومنذ تأسيسها في عام 1979، إلتزمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تجاه الإبتكار المتواصل بقطاع صهر الألمنيوم بُغية إنتاج أفضل منتجات الألمنيوم جودة في العالم مع تحقيق أقصى قدر من الكفاءة التشغيلية، وقد أسهمت تقنياتها الداخلية المُتطورة لصهر الألمنيوم، في جعل الشركة مُنافساً يحظى بالإحترام والتقدير، بهذا القطاع، وبلا شك، فإن تقنيتي DX+ وDX+ Ultra من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، هُما من بين أفضل تقنيات إختزال الألمنيوم الحالية كفاءة.