EGA supports Special Needs Challenge 2016

Aluminium giant is Diamond Sponsor of the event
United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) is the Diamond Sponsor of the Special Needs Challenge 2016, which takes place on Thursday, February 4 at IPIC Arena, Zayed Sports City in Abu Dhabi. Organised by the Abilities Development Centre in Abu Dhabi under the patronage of HH Sheikha Salama bint Tahnoon bin Mohamed Al Nahyan, Honorary Chairman of Abilities Development Centre, and in the presence of HH Sheikh Mohamed bin Khalifa bin Khalid Al Nahyan, the annual event aims to instil a spirit of competition in special needs students from schools around the UAE through sport and entertainment activities.

Now in its ninth consecutive year, the Special Needs Challenge will welcome 1,500 special needs students at this year’s event where activities will include a swimming competition, various sports contests and interactive entertainment. EGA’s sponsorship of the 2016 event marks its first collaboration with the Abilities Development Centre. Commenting on the sponsorship, Khalid Buhumaid (Senior Vice President, Communication & Government Relations) said, “EGA strives to make a positive impact in the communities where we operate. Sponsoring events such as the Special Needs Challenge is part of our on-going corporate social responsibility strategy and is testament to our belief in charity and humanitarian support. We are delighted to support the event and show our solidarity with the students; who represent an important segment of our society.”

The Abilities Development Centre is a private organisation that specialises in training, evaluating and developing the abilities of children with mild to medium mental difficulties and autism. The centre seeks to assimilate these children into society by all means possible and offers specialised teaching, psychological training and social programmes. The centre aims to improve the behaviour and learning abilities of students, so that they can eventually be integrated into regular schools.

EGA’s collaboration with the Abilities Development Centre is part of a long-term commitment from the business to support special needs causes in the UAE. For example, EGA regularly works with the Emirates Autism Centre through events sponsorships and was the exclusive sponsor of a music event organised by the Abu Dhabi Museum and Art Foundation. EGA also sponsors physical therapy for special needs students at Senses Special Needs Centre in Dubai.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم راعياً ماسيا لبطولة انطلاقة التحدي لذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة 2016

تحت رعاية سمو الشيخة سلامة بنت طحنون بن محمد آل نهيان
الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عن رعايتها الماسية لبطولة انطلاقة التحدي لذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة 2016، التي ستقام يوم الخميس الموافق 4 فبراير بقاعة آيبيك آرينا بمدينة زايد الرياضية في أبوظبي ، ويهدف هذا الحدث السنويالذي ينظمه مركز تنمية القدرات في أبوظبي تحت رعاية سمو الشيخة سلامة بنت طحنون بن محمد آل نهيان، الرئيس الفخري لمركز تنمية القدرات، وبحضور سمو الشيخ محمد بن خليفة بن خالد آل نهيان-، إلى غرس روح المنافسة لدى الطلاب من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة من مختلف مدارس الدولة، عبر الأنشطة الرياضية والترفيهية.

ومن المقرر أن يرحب تحدي ذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة، الذي يحتفل هذا العام بمناسبة مرور تسع سنوات على إنطلاقه، بنحو 1500 طالباًمن ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، وستتضمن نشاطات دورة هذا العام مسابقة السباحة، ومسابقات رياضية متنوعة وأنشطة ترفيهية تفاعلية. وتعد رعاية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لهذا العام أول تعاون لها مع مركز تنمية القدرات. وفي هذا الإطار قال السيد/ خالد عيسى بوحميد، نائب أول الرئيس للإتصال والعلاقات الحكومية :"تسعى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم جاهدة لإحداث تأثير إيجابي في مجتمعنا ، حيث تمثل رعايتنا للفعاليات الإجتماعية، جزءا من استراتيجيتنا المتواصلة للمسؤولية الاجتماعية وشهادة على مدى إيماننا الراسخ بأهمية دعم الأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية، وبالتالي نحن سعداء برعاية بطولة انطلاقة التحدي وإظهار تضامننا مع الطلاب، الذين يمثلون شريحة مهمة في مجتمعنا ".

يشار إلى أن مركز تنمية القدرات هو مؤسسة خاصة متخصصة في تدريب وتقييم وتطوير قدرات الأطفال من ذوي الصعوبات العقلية الخفيفة والمتوسطة ومرضى التوحد، ويسعى المركز لاستيعاب هذه الفئات في المجتمع بكل الوسائل الممكنة، ويقدم خدمات التدريس المتخصص، والتدريب النفسي والبرامج الاجتماعية، ويهدف إلى تحسين القدرات السلوكية والتعليمية للطلاب، بما يمكنهم من الإنتظام في المدارس العادية.

ويمثل تعاون شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مع مركز تنمية القدرات جزءاً من إلتزام الشركة طويل الأجل بدعم ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فعلى سبيل المثال، تعمل الشركة بانتظام مع مركز الإمارات للتوحد عبر رعاية فعالياته، وكانت الراعي الحصري للحفل الموسيقي الذي نظمه مجموعة أبوظبي للثقافة والفنون، كما ترعى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم توفير خدمات العلاج الطبيعي لطلاب ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة بمركز ""المشاعر الإنسانية لرعاية ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة"" لذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة في دبي.