EGA makes further strides in energy efficiency with new invention

Energy efficiency has underpinned the development of EGA’s advanced technologies over the past 25 years

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) implements and where relevant, develops, world-leading processes and technologies to produce the highest quality primary aluminium products possible. Aspiring to make the future better than today, the company continually explores new ways of working and develops solutions that improve industry standards.

EGA Jebel Ali (also known as “Dubai Aluminium” or “DUBAL”) has been involved in technology development for more than 20 years, and EGA’s Technology Development and Transfer department has been mandated to innovate continuously. These efforts have resulted in inventions and new ideas that have helped improve EGA’s environmental performance (through lower energy usage and lower emissions) and operational efficiency, while garnering the company significant respect in the global aluminium sector.

Since 2014, EGA has been working with Takamul to patent the company’s proprietary technologies. Founded by the Abu Dhabi Technology Development Committee (“TDC”), Takamul supports inventors at various stages of the innovation lifecycle and promotes innovation across the Emirates. Following evaluation by Takamul’s Patent Review Committee, approval from for financial support was granted to EGA in October 2015 for the development of a copper bar invention that will be used in the aluminium production process.

Aluminium production takes place in an electrolytic cell, a large carbon-lined block inside a steel container which forms a negative electrode or ‘cathode’. One of the main factors that affects the energy consumption of the electrolytic cell is the total resistance of the cell, and an important section of the cell that affects overall resistance, are cathode collector bars. Conventionally, the cathode collector bars in the potlines at EGA are made from steel, a material that has a high resistivity especially at high temperatures and slows down the electric current. This means that a higher voltage is required to power the pot, using more energy as a result.

The energy cost of producing aluminium is considerable. Typically, 13 kWh to 15 kWh is needed to produce one kilogram of aluminium. Together, EGA’s Power Plants at Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah (also known as Emirates Aluminium or “EMAL”) generate 5,450 MW, which is enough to light up 545 million light bulbs for an hour and equates to approximately 20 per cent of the 27 GW of installed capacity in the UAE.

In October 2012, the R&D team at DUBAL led by Abdalla Al Zarouni (Director of Dubai Technology Transfer, EGA Jebel Ali operations) and Bernard Jonqua (Manager R&D Technology Potlining, DUBAL Technology, EGA Jebel Ali operations) set out to identify a material to replace steel for the collector bars. The new material needed to have a significantly lower electrical resistivity to reduce the voltage of the cathode - and consequently the total voltage of the pot. In turn, this would significantly reduce energy consumption of the electrolytic cells, lowering the carbon footprint and energy related costs of aluminium production.

“The solution that we identified for the collector bars was to replace steel with copper. Copper is six times less resistive than steel and allows electric current to flow more effectively, resulting in a more even distribution of the current in the cathode,” said Jonqua. He continued, “Once we identified the appropriate material, our next step was to establish the most effective position for the copper bar inside the cathode. The first idea was to drill a cylindrical hole at the bottom of the cathode block but with this method, the hole did not provide the required tolerances. We then worked on several variations, eventually discovering that creating a small groove in the bottom of the cathode block was the best solution. With this design, the copper bars can be inserted, adjusted at the requested value and will stay inside the grooves even when the cathode block is turned over.”

The materials for the full copper bar are now on order and a test - which will take several months - will be conducted in 2016. During the test, three cathodes will be replaced with full copper bars in one pot. The pot will then be stopped after approximately four months where the condition of the copper will be assessed along with the performance and reliability of the invention.

The cell design is unique and has never been tested in this way before. Along with improving energy efficiency, which has a significant impact on cost, at the end of the pot life the copper collector bars can be recovered and sold back to a copper factory for 70- to 85 per cent of the LME price of copper. This brings further commercial benefits to EGA and offers a more sustainable solution overall.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تختبر اختراعاً جديداً لتعزيز كفاءة استهلاك الطاقة

جهود الارتقاء بمعايير الاستدامة والإنتاج ميّزت مشاريع تطوير التكنولوجيا المتقدمة في الشركة طوال السنوات الـ25 الماضية

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: تواصل الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تطبيق وتطوير أفضل العمليات والابتكارات التكنولوجية عالمية المستوى لتصنيع منتجات الألمنيوم الأولي وفق أعلى المعايير، وذلك في إطار سعيها لتوفير حلول مستقبلية مبتكرة واستكشاف وسائل جديدة لتطوير وتحسين مقاييس الإنتاج. 

وقد دأبت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم جبل علي على تطوير تكنولوجيا الإنتاج في مصهر دوبال منذ أكثر من 20 عاماً، فيما تتولى إدارة نقل وتطوير التكنولوجيا في الشركة مهمة مواصلة الابتكار. وقد أثمرت هذه الجهود العديد من الاختراعات والأفكار المبتكرة التي ساهمت في تحسين الأداء البيئي من خلال تقليص حجم الطاقة المستخدمة وخفض الانبعاثات وتعزيز كفاءة العمليات، لترسّخ سمعتها المؤسسية في صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية.

ومنذ عام 2014، تعمل الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على حماية براءة اختراعاتها التكنولوجية مع "برنامج تكامل" الوطني، والذي أطلقته لجنة أبوظبي لتطوير التكنولوجيا بهدف دعم المخترعين في مختلف مراحل عملهم وتعزيز ثقافة الابتكار وحماية حقوق الملكية الفكرية في الدولة. 

ومؤخراً وتحديداً في أكتوبر 2015 حاز اختراع تقنية القضبان النحاسية، الذي طورته الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لاستخدامه في عملياتها الإنتاجية، على موافقة لجنة تقييم الاختراعات في "تكامل" لينال الدعم المادي من البرنامج بهدف تسجيله كبراءة اختراع.  

وتتم عملية إنتاج الألمنيوم  في خلايا تستخدم تقنية التحليل الكهربائي، وتكون كل خلية بمثابة وعاء فولاذي كبير يغذيه الكربون ليشكّل بدوره قطباً سالباً. ومن أهم العوامل التي تحدد حجم استهلاك الطاقة أثناء الإنتاج مدى المقاومة المتوفرة في الخلية، وقضبان التجميع للأقطاب السالبة هي في هذا السياق من أبرز أقسام خلية الإنتاج التي تؤثر في مقاومة التيار الكهربائي. وجرت العادة على استخدام قضبان التجميع المصنوعة من الفولاذ للأقطاب السالبة في خطوط إنتاج الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وهو ما يولّد مقاومة عالية في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة ويبطئ من تدفق التيار الكهربائي. وهذا ما يعني الحاجة إلى استطاعة فولطية كهربائية أعلى لتشغيل خلايا الإنتاج وبالتالي استخدام المزيد من الطاقة.

تحتاج صناعة الألمنيوم إلى الطاقة. ومن حيث المبدأ، يستهلك إنتاج كيلوجرام واحد من الألمنيوم ما بين 13 إلى 15 كيلواط في الساعة من الكهرباء. وتنتج محطتا توليد الكهرباء في مصهري دوبال وإيمال ما مجموعه 5450 ميجاواط – أي ما يكفي لإضاءة 545 مليون مصباح لساعة كاملة، ويعادل حوالي 20 بالمائة من الاستطاعة الإجمالية التي يمكن لمحطات الدولة توليدها حالياً بواقع 27 جيجاواط.

ومنذ أكتوبر 2012 باشر فريق الأبحاث والتطوير في مصهر دوبال بقيادة عبدالله الزرعوني، مدير إدارة نقل التكنولوجيا في عمليات الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي ، وبرنارد جونكوا، مدير أبحاث وتطوير تكنولوجيا خلايا الإنتاج في قسم دوبال للتكنولوجيا ضمن عمليات الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي، بالبحث عن مادة بديلة للفولاذ لاستخدامها في قضبان التجميع. واستهدف مشروع البحث إيجاد مادة ذات مقاومة كهربائية أقل؛ بحيث تخفض الفولطية الكهربائية للأقطاب السالبة والفولطية الكهربائية الإجمالية لخلية الإنتاج. وهو ما سينعكس إيجاباً بخفض استهلاك الطاقة في الخلايا العاملة بتقنية التحليل الكهربائي، وتقليص البصمة الكربونية، وتقليل تكلفة الطاقة المستخدمة في إنتاج الألمنيوم.

وعن تفاصيل البحث، يقول جونكوا: "الحل الذي توصلنا له هو استبدال قضبان التجميع المصنوعة من الفولاذ بأخرى مصنوعة من النحاس. فمقاومة النحاس أقل بست مرات من مقاومة الفولاذ، وهو يسمح بتدفق التيار الكهربائي بفعالية أكبر ويوزع التيار بشكل أكثر تساوياً ضمن القطب السالب."

وشرح جونكوا: "بمجرد تحديدنا للمادة الملائمة، كانت خطوتنا التالية تحديد الموقع الأنسب للقضيب النحاسي داخل القطب السالب. وكانت الفكرة الأولية حفر ثقب اسطواني في قعر كتلة القطب السالب، لكن ذلك لم يكن ليوفر المساحات الحرة المطلوبة داخل الخلية. لذلك، عملنا لاحقاً على ابتكار خيارات جديدة حتى توصلنا في النهاية إلى أن صنع تجويف صغير في قعر كتلة القطب السالب هو الحل الأمثل. فبمثل هذا التصميم، يمكن إدخال القضبان النحاسية وتعديلها وفق القيم المطلوبة، مع المحافظة عليها داخل تلك التجاويف حتى عندما يتم قلب كتلة الأقطاب السالبة."

وقد تم طلب المكونات الكاملة للقضبان النحاسية الجديدة من أجل عملية اختبارها، التي تتم خلال العام 2016. وأثناء الاختبارات، سوف يتم استخدام ثلاثة أقطاب سالبة بقضبان نحاسية بالكامل في خلية الإنتاج الواحدة. بعدها يتم إيقاف العمل بتلك الخلية لمدة أربعة أشهر تقريباً لتقييم حالة النحاس فيها، وتشخيص أداء وكفاءة الاختراع.

وهذه هي المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها اختبار منافع هذا التصميم الفريد من نوعه للخلية. فإلى جانب تحسين كفاءة استخدام الطاقة التي ستؤثر إيجاباً على خفض كلفة الإنتاج، يمكن إعادة تدوير قضبان التجميع النحاسية عند انتهاء العمر الافتراضي لخلية الإنتاج ببيعها لإحدى مصانع النحاس مقابل 70 إلى 85 بالمائة من سعر النحاس الجديد في السوق. وهو ما يعود بالمزيد من الفوائد التجارية على الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مع توفير حل إنتاجي أكثر استدامة.