New EGA code of conduct launched during first-ever “Compliance Week”

Awareness campaign outlined company ethics and provided guidelines to employees

United Arab Emirates: Promoting a strong values-based corporate culture, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) recently launched its new Code of Conduct: “Our Values at Work” through a dedicated “Compliance Week” campaign across its Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah sites. Held from 31 August to 3 September 2015, the campaign featured a series of activities designed to give employees a thorough understanding of EGA’s new compliance programme while offering guidelines on how to follow the Code with integrity.

Reflecting the highest international standards, EGA’s Code of Conduct is part of the on-going integration of EGA’s operating subsidiaries Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL” – also known as EGA Jebel Ali) and Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL” – also known as EGA Al Taweelah); and the establishment of EGA as a single business. Officially launched by Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer: EGA), the new Code of Conduct is based on EGA’s values of “protect”, “provide” and “perform”, which form the foundation for delivering on EGA’s strategic commitments.

Speaking at the launch of Compliance Week, Kalban commented, “EGA’s Code of Conduct and values guide our interactions with customers, suppliers, co-workers, shareholders and the wider communities in which we operate. We are judged every day – as a business and as individuals. What we say and what we do, and how we say it and how we do it, either enhances or harms EGA’s reputation. By upholding the Code and working with integrity, we can ensure that EGA always conducts business in an ethical and compliant manner, ensuring a strong and sustainable future.”

Hosted by EGA’s Legal & Compliance department, key activities during Compliance Week included screenings of a bespoke animated film explaining the key points of the Code of Conduct. A video on EGA’s commitment to compliance was also screened with the aim of entrenching the main messages of the campaign. Interactive games and prizes helped engage employees and enhance understanding.

Talks by Abdulla Kalban and fellow members of EGA’s Executive Management team explained how compliance with the Code is essential in each area of the business and how the cooperation of every employee is vital in helping the company achieve its overall goals. Awareness of EGA’s “Your Voice” report line was also raised, with the aim of encouraging employees to speak-up and share any concerns regarding non-compliance. Assurance was given of EGA’s commitment to investigate any reported issues thoroughly and take appropriate action where necessary.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدشّن رسمياً مدونتها الجديدة للقواعد السلوكية

الحملة التوعوية هدفت إلى إستعراض أخلاقيات العمل في الشركة وتقديم إرشادات للموظفين حول كيفية إتباع مدونة القواعد السلوكية بنزاهة وإستقامة.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في إطار سعيها الحثيث إلى تعزيز أسس الثقافة المؤسسية القائمة على القيم الراسخة، دشنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مؤخرا مدونتها الجديدة للقواعد السلوكية تحت عنوان "قيمنا في العمل"،  عبر تنظيم حملة متخصصة لـ"أسبوع الإمتثال"، بموقعي عملياتها في جبل علي والطويلة. وتضمنت الحملة، التي جرت في الفترة من 31 أغسطس إلى 3 سبتمبر 2015، مجموعة من الأنشطة تم تصميمها بهدف منح الموظفين فهما شاملا ومتعمقا حول برنامج الإمتثال الجديد في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وفي نفس الوقت، توفير إرشادات حول كيفية إتباع مدونة القواعد السلوكية بنزاهة وإستقامة.

وتعد مدونة القواعد السلوكية الجديدة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، والتي تعكس أرقى المعايير العالمية، جزء من عملية الإندماج المتواصلة للشركات التشغيلية التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، المتمثلة في شركة دبي للألمنيوم ("دوبال" - المعروفة أيضا باسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي)، وشركة الإمارات للألمنيوم ("إيمال" - المعروفة أيضا باسم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة)، وتأسيس شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ككيان تجاري واحد. وترتكز مدونة القواعد السلوكية الجديدة، التي قام بتدشينها رسميا سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان (العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، على القيم الأساسية الثلاث للشركة والمتمثلة في "الحماية" و"التوفير" و"الأداء"، والتي تشكل بدورها قاعدة إنطلاق شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نحو الإيفاء بإلتزاماتها الإستراتيجية.

وفي كلمته خلال تدشين "أسبوع الإمتثال"، قال سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان :"تلعب مدونة القواعد السلوكية وقيم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم دور البوصلة في توجيهنا نحو الإتجاه الصحيح للتعامل مع  العملاء والموردين، وزملاء العمل والمساهمين والمجتمعات التي نعمل فيها، فنحن كشركة وموظفين، يتم الحكم علينا كل يوم. إن ما نقوله وما نفعله، وكيف نقوله، وكيف نفعله، إما أن يؤدي إلى تعزيز أو إلحاق الضرر بسمعة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ومن خلال التمسك والإلتزام بمدونة القواعد السلوكية والعمل بنزاهة وإستقامة، يمكننا أن نضمن دائماً قيام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتنفيذ أعمالها بطريقة أخلاقية ومتوافقة، ما يضمن لنا التمتّع بمستقبل قوي ومستدام ".

وتضمنت الأنشطة الرئيسية لـ"أسبوع الإمتثال"، الذي استضافته إدارة الشؤون القانونية والامتثال في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، عرض فيلم (رسوم متحركة) تم إعداده خصيصاً لشرح النقاط الرئيسية لمدونة القواعد السلوكية، كما تم أيضا عرض شريط فيديو إستعرض مدى التزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تجاه الامتثال، بهدف ترسيخ الرسائل الرئيسية للحملة، وساعدت أنشطة الألعاب التفاعلية والجوائز في تعزيز مشاركة ومستوى فهم الموظفين لمدونة القواعد السلوكية.

وأسهمت الكلمات التي ألقاها كل من سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان وزملائه من أعضاء فريق الإدارة التنفيذية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في شرح مدى الأهمية التي يمثلها الإلتزام بمدونة القواعد السلوكية بالنسبة لكل إدارة من إدارات الشركة وكيف أن تعاون جميع الموظفين يمثل عنصرا حيويا  في مساعدة الشركة على تحقيق أهدافها العامة. كما تم أيضا تسليط الضوء على خط شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لتقديم البلاغات "أسمعنا صوتك"، بهدف تشجيع الموظفين على الإعراب عن آرائهم ومشاركة أية مخاوف تتعلق بعدم الإمتثال، وتم التأكيد على إلتزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم التام بالتحقيق في أي موضوعات يتم الإبلاغ عنها بدقة واتخاذ الإجراءات المناسبة عند الضرورة.