EGA’s culture of innovation rewarded at Ideas.America 2015

EGA suggestion wins gold award at international competition

United Arab Emirates: As a business built on a legacy of excellence, innovation is a core guiding principle at Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”); and a contributor to the organisation’s sustained success. Continuing a tradition of international recognition over the years for its commitment to ideas-sharing and continuous improvement, driven through active employee involvement, EGA received the Gold Award in the ‘Safety Idea of the Year’ category at the 2015 Ideas.America International Competition, which took place in Maryland, USA, from 15 to 17 September.

Value-adding innovation has been a tradition since EGA’s inception in 1979 when operating subsidiary Dubal Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as EGA Jebel Ali) was formed. Today, one of EGA’s corporate values is “perform” whereby the business strives to excel in operations through continuous improvement and innovation. This year’s Ideas.America Gold Award went to the suggestion entitled “To use sacrificial fuse to energise pots without using shunt bypass system”, which was submitted by Mudassar Hassan and Kochali Hussain from the Cell Lining department.

Commending the award winners, Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO: EGA) said, “This Ideas.America Award further highlights EGA’s commitment to Environment, Health and Safety and demonstrates our specific emphasis on ‘safety first and always’, where zero harm and the overall wellbeing of employees are paramount. Congratulations to the innovators on developing this initiative which goes a long way in supporting EGA’s continuous efforts to raise our safety standards and performance records.”

In May 1981, DUBAL developed a Suggestion Scheme, which continues to empower EGA employees today through a proactive ideas-sharing culture. EGA operating subsidiary Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as EGA Al Taweelah) followed suit by launching a Suggestion Scheme at its commissioning in 2009. The level of employee involvement in the integrated EGA Suggestion Scheme shows no sign of abating. In 2014 alone, EGA employees at a non-supervisory level submitted a total of 28,791 suggestions, of which 17,389 were implemented and awarded. These suggestions have helped drive cutting-edge developments and contributed to the long-term sustainability of the business by generating savings of US$9.9 million.

Ideas.America is the leading professional association that assists organisations internationally in idea management. This is EGA’s 36th award from Ideas.America, having previously won a total of 35 awards in the annual competition from 2002 to 2014. EGA has also won numerous awards at diverse international innovation-based contests including the annual Ideas.UK, Ideas.Arabia and “dib” competitions.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تفوز بالجائزة الذهبية لمسابقة Ideas.America الدولية 2015

موظفو الشركة من المستوى غير الإشرافي قدموا 28,791 إقتراحا في 2014، تم منها تطبيق وتكريم 17,389 إقتراحا حققت توفير بقيمة 9.9 مليون دولار أمريكي. عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي حصد 36 جائزة من جوائز المسابقة ما بين 2002 و2015.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: إنطلاقا من كونها شركة تأسست على إرث متين من التميز، يمثل الابتكار مبدأً توجيهياً جوهرياً في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ومساهماً كبيراً في مسيرتها نحو النجاح المستدام. وفي تواصل لمسيرة التكريم الدولي الذي إستقطبته الشركة على مدار السنين تقديرا  لالتزامها الحثيث تجاه تبادل الأفكار والتحسين المستمر، عبر تفعيل المشاركة النشطة للموظفين، حصدت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الجائزة الذهبية عن فئة "أفضل فكرة سلامة للعام" لجوائز مسابقة  Ideas.America الدولية 2015، التي نظمت بولاية ماريلاند الأمريكية، في الفترة من 15 إلى 17 سبتمبر.

وقد مثل الإبتكار ذو القيمة المضافة تقليدا راسخا منذ تأسيس شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في العام 1979، عند تأسس شركتها التشغيلية التابعة، شركة دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال، التي تعرف أيضا بإسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي)، واليوم تجسد قيمة "الأداء" واحدة من القيم الأساسية للشركة، مع سعيها إلى تحقيق إمتياز العمليات عبر التحسين المستمر والابتكار. وفاز بالجائزة الذهبية لمسابقة Ideas.America هذا العام اقتراح "إستخدام صمام كهربائي مؤقت لتنشيط بوتقات الصهر دون الحاجة لإستخدام نظام التحويل الكهربائي الإلتفافي"، المقدم من مدسر حسن وكوتشالي حسين من إدارة تبطين الخلايا.

وفي معرض تعليقه على فوز الشركة بالجائزة الذهبية، قال سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :" يعكس فوزنا الجديد بجائزة  Ideas.America مرة أخرى مدى قوة إلتزام الشركة تجاه  البيئة والصحة والسلامة ويجسد بشكل خاص تركيزنا الكبير على مفهوم  'السلامة أولاً ودائماً، حيث يحتل تحقيق النسبة الصفرية من الضرر، وتوفير الرفاهية الشاملة للموظفين قمة أولوياتنا، وفي هذا الإطار أتوجه بخالص التهاني لموظفينا المبتكرين على تطوير هذه المبادرة التي تدعم بقوة جهودنا المتواصلة لرفع معايير وسجلات أداء السلامة في شركتنا".

وكانت دوبال دشنت برنامج إقتراحات الموظفين في مايو 1981، حيث يواصل في يومنا هذا مسيرة تمكين موظفي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، إعتمادا على ثقافة التبادل النشط للأفكار، وقد حذت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم (إيمال، والتي تعرف أيضا بإسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالطويلة)، حذو دوبال عبر تدشين برنامج للإقتراحات مع تأسيسها في العام 2009، وتحت مظلة برنامج الإقتراحات الموحد لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، تعززت بشكل أكبر مستويات مشاركة الموظفين بالبرنامج، حيث شهد العام 2014 وحده تقديم موظفو الشركة من المستوى غير الإشرافي لإجمالي 28,791 إقتراحاً، تم منها تطبيق وتكريم 17,389 إقتراحاً، وساعدت تلك الإقتراحات في دعم عمليات التطوير وساهمت في تعزيز مسيرة الإستدامة طويلة المدى للشركة عبر تحقيق وفورات بلغت 9.9 مليون دولار أمريكي.

يشار إلى أن Ideas.America هى اتحاد مهني رائد يساعد المؤسسات والشركات على الصعيد الدولي في عملية إدارة الأفكار. ويمثل فوز شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالجائزة الذهبية لدورة هذا العام المرة الـ36 التي تفوز فيها الشركة بجوائز المسابقة حيث فازت سابقاً بإجمالي 35 جائزة في الفترة ما بين 2002 إلى 2014، كما فازت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضا بعدد  كبير من جوائز مسابقات الابتكار الدولية بما في ذلك Ideas.UK السنوية، ومسابقة الأفكار العربية ومسابقة  العهد الألماني لإدارة الأعمال.