Hattrick of awards for EGA at CII Symposium

Eight golds in four years brings awards haul to seventeen

United Arab Emirates: Two of the team-based awards (Kaizen and Six Sigma) submitted by Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) to the 7th Dubai Quality Group (“DQG”) Continual Improvement & Innovation (“CII”) Symposium won gold awards, while a third entry in Kaizen earned a silver award.  Ranked among most prestigious annual events in the region, the 2015 DQG CII Awards – which took place on 12 November – aim to recognise the spirit of excellence and the use of innovative, scientific, structured and data-driven methodologies for the continual and breakthrough improvements of an organisation's processes.

Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer) reports that four EGA case studies were short-listed for the Live Competition during the symposium and all projected a strong brand image. The award-winning EGA entries took top honours in two categories, namely:

Lean Six Sigma Category 

  • Gold Award – For the project “Improving net carbon consumption”, from Carbon & Port Operations, EGA Jebel Ali.

Kaizen Category

  • Gold Award – For the project entitled “Blockage elimination and optimisation of unloading cycle time of Phase II alumina truck unloading system”, from Reduction, EGA Al Taweelah.
  • Silver Award – For the project “Anode baking furnace maintenance – Reducing overall maintenance cost of Anode Slot Cutting Machine by 35% without impacting the quality of the product”, from Carbon & Port, EGA Al Taweelah.

This year’s wins bring to 17 the number of DQG CII awards won by EGA in the five years it has been involved with the symposium, held annually to celebrate World Quality Day. Since 2011, EGA has won eight gold, six silver and three bronze awards – with two gold awards having been garnered at each of the last four events staged by DQG.

Clearly delighted at EGA’s repeated triumph, Kalban said, “EGA invests significantly in building our organisational capabilities through employee involvement – which leads to greater quality, productivity and cost-effectiveness. This year’s DQG CII Awards demonstrate the commitment of our employees to the success of the business, as well as their dedication towards excellence in all that we do.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تتوج بـ"ذهبيتين" و"فضية" خلال جوائز ندوة التحسين المتواصل والإبتكار 2015

عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي فاز بثمان جوائز ذهبية خلال أربعة أعوام ليصل العدد الإجمالي إلى 17 جائزة.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة:  حصدت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجائزتين ذهبيتين (ضمن فئتي كايزن و six sigma) عن فئة إقتراحات جوائز الفريق ضمن مشاركتها  بالدورة السابعة لجوائز ندوة التحسين المتواصل والإبتكار التي تنظمها مجموعة دبي للجودة ، بينما فازت المشاركة الثالثة ضمن فئة "كايزن" بالجائزة الفضية. وتهدف جوائز ندوة التحسين المتواصل والإبتكار 2015، التي تعد واحدة من أرقى الفعاليات السنوية في المنطقة، والتي أقيمت يوم 12 نوفمبر من العام الجاري، إلى تكريم روح الإمتياز وإستخدام الإبتكار والمنهجيات العلمية المعتمدة على البيانات من أجل التحسين المتواصل والمتطور لعمليات المؤسسات.

وأشار سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي إلى أن أربع دراسات حالة قدمتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وصلت القائمة النهائية المختصرة للمسابقة المباشرة التي تمت تنظيمها خلال الندوة، حيث عكست جميعها قوة العلامة التجارية للشركة، وفازت مشاركات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتلك الجوائز المرموقة ضمن فئتين هما:

فئة " Six Sigma ":

  • الجائزة الذهبية: عن مشروع "تحسين صافي استهلاك الكربون"، المقدم من إدارة الكربون وعمليات الميناء بموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم  في جبل علي.

فئة  كايزن:

  • الجائزة الذهبية: عن مشروع "إزالة الانسداد والاستفادة المثلى من وقت دورة نظام تفريغ شاحنات الألومينا بالمرحلة الثانية" المقدم من إدارة الإختزال بموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة.
  • الجائزة الفضية: عن مشروع "صيانة أفران تحميص الأنود، وتقليص نفقات الصيانة الإجمالية لماكينة قطع فتحات الأنود بنسبة 35% دون التأثير على جودة المنتج" المقدم من إدارة الكربون والميناء بموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة.

ومع إنجاز هذا العام، يصل العدد الإجمالي لجوائز ندوة التحسين المتواصل والإبتكار التي حصدتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إلى 17 جائزة على مدار خمس سنوات من مشاركتها بفعاليات الندوة التي تقام سنوياً إحتفالاً باليوم العالمي للجودة. ومنذ العام 2011، فازت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بثمان جوائز ذهبية وست جوائز فضية وثلاث جوائز برونزية، حيث فازت الشركة بجائزتين ذهبيتين خلال الدورات الأربع الأخيرة.

وفي معرض سعادته البالغة بالنجاح المتواصل لمشاركات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بفعاليات الندوة، أضاف عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان :"تستثمر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم جهوداً كبرى لبناء قدراتها المؤسسية من أجل تطوير وتفعيل مشاركات الموظفين تماشياً مع أفضل الممارسات المتاحة، مما يقود بدوره إلى الإرتقاء بمستويات الجودة والإنتاجية وكفاءة التكاليف، حيث تعكس تلك الجوائز مدى إلتزامنا تجاه موظفينا، ومدى تفاني موظفينا تجاه تحقيق الإمتياز".