EGA takes two awards in the 2015 Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year Competition

Innovation-driven aluminium giant has secured 24 wins since 2006.

United Arab Emirates: The corporate commitment to innovation at Emirates Global Aluminium ("EGA") has once again received independent recognition - this time through the award of top honours in two categories of the 2015 Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year competition. The latest wins bring the total number of Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year awards won by EGA to a total of 24, with operating subsidiaries Dubai Aluminium ("DUBAL", also known as EGA Jebel Ali) and Emirates Aluminium ("EMAL", also known as EGA Al Taweelah) having secured awards in previous years. This year's honours comprised:

  • Best Sustainable Ideas Scheme, which was awarded to the EGA Suggestion Scheme. This category was introduced for the first time this year by the organisers, Dubai Quality Group ("DQG"), to award schemes that have successfully been running for more than 15 years and that have made a significant contribution to the success of the organisation. The EGA Suggestion Scheme was originally established by DUBAL and has operated successfully for 34 years. In 2014, a total of 28,791 ideas were submitted by EGA employees, with 17,389 awarded and implemented, generated savings of US$ 9.9 million. The scheme is a regional pioneer in employee involvement programmes and has served as an example for a large number of organisations, both locally and internationally.
  • Best Invention Award, which was presented to the EGA suggestion entitled "Newly designed air blasting system for carbon anodes", submitted by Kashif Shaheen Noushad Kizhakkethodi and Ghulam Haider from the Carbon & Port team at EGA Al Taweelah. The winning idea involved the design and development of an automatic cleaning system for hot anodes, replacing complex and potentially hazardous manual methods. The new automated solution simplifies the process and limits the carbon dust that is emitted, thus eliminating associated environmental pollution and improving occupational health and hygiene.

The Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year competition forms an integral part of the annual Ideas.Arabia International Conference, which emphasises the importance of innovation in fostering business competitiveness and provides a forum for companies to share best practice. The aim of the competition is to recognise the most significant ideas implemented by organisations throughout the calendar year. EGA was the main sponsor of the 10th Ideas.Arabia International Conference, which took place in Dubai on 28 and 29 April 2015.

Commenting on the event and award wins, Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of EGA) said, "One of our key values is to 'perform', which defines our ambition to excel in operations through continuous improvement and innovation. We encourage our employees to always be on the look-out for better and safer ways of working. The Ideas.Arabia International Conference and Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year provide important opportunities to demonstrate the culture of employee involvement nurtured at EGA while benchmarking against other leading organisations."

DUBAL was a key driver in the formation of Ideas.Arabia as a subgroup of DQG. Through DUBAL, EGA has supported the conference and associated competition since its inception in 2006.

"الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تحصد إثنتين من جوائز مسابقة الأفكار العربية 2015

عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي يفوز بـ 24 جائزة منذ تدشين المسابقة في العام 2006.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: حاز إلتزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تجاه الإبتكار مرة أخرى على التقدير و التكريم مع فوز الشركة بالجائزة الأولى لفئتين من جوائز مسابقة الأفكار العربية 2015، ليصل بذلك العدد الإجمالي لجوائز مسابقة الأفكار العربية لـ"أفضل فكرة للعام"، التي فازت بها الشركة إلى 24 جائزة، حيث حصدت الشركات التشغيلية التابعة للشركة المتمثلة في شركة دبي للألمنيوم (موقع جبل علي)، وشركة الإمارات للألمنيوم (موقع الطويلة)، العديد من جوائز المسابقة على مدار السنوات السابقة. وشملت جوائز هذا العام ما يلي:

  • أفضل برنامج للأفكار المستدامة، التي تم منحها لبرنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للإقتراحات. حيث تم تدشين هذه الفئة للمرة الأولى هذا العام من جانب مجموعة دبي للجودة)المنظمة للمسابقة(، بهدف تكريم البرامج التي مارست مهامها بنجاح لأكثر من 15 عاما. ويشار إلى أن برنامج الإقتراحات التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، تم تدشينه في الأصل من جانب دوبال ويعمل بنجاح على إمتداد 34 عاما. وخلال عام 2014، تم تقديم ما مجموعه 28791 إقتراحا من جانب موظفي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، تم منها تنفيذ وتكريم 17389 إقتراحا، محققة بذالك توفير بقيمة 9.9 مليون دولار أمريكي. ويعد البرنامج رائدا إقليميا بمجال برامج مشاركات الموظفين ومثالا يحتذى به لعدد كبير من الشركات على الصعيدين المحلي والدولي.
  • جائزة أفضل إبتكار، والتي تم منحها لإقتراح شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بعنوان "نظام سفع الهواء المصمم حديثا لأقطاب الكربون"، المقدم من كاشف شاهين نوشاد كيزاكيثودي وغلام حيدر من فريق الكربون والميناء بموقع الشركة في منطقة الطويلة. وتضمنت الفكرة الفائزة تصميم وتطوير نظام التنظيف التلقائي للأنودات الساخنة، ليحل محل الطرق اليدوية المعقدة والتي قد تشكل خطورة، حيث يبسط الحل الآلي الجديد تلك العملية ويحد من إنبعاثات غبار الكربون، بالتالي يحد من التلوث البيئي، ويرتقي بجوانب الصحة والنظافة المهنية.

وتشكل مسابقة الأفكار العربية لأفضل فكرة للعام، جزءا لا يتجزأ من المؤتمر الدولي للأفكار العربية، والذي يسلط الضوء على أهمية الابتكار في تعزيز القدرة التنافسية ويوفر منتدى للشركات لتبادل أفضل الممارسات. وتهدف المسابقة إلى تكريم وتقدير أهم وأبرز الأفكار التي تم تطبيقها على مدار العام، حيث كانت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الراعي الرئيسي لفعاليات الدورة العاشرة للمؤتمر الدولي للأفكار العربية (الأفكار العربية 2015)، التي إنعقدت في دبي في الفترة من 28-29 أبريل 2015.

ومن خلال المؤتمر وفوز الشركة بالجائزتين، قال سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"تمثل قمة "الأداء" واحدة من القيم الأساسية لشركتنا، وترسم ملامح طموحنا لتحقيق إمتياز العمليات عبر التحسين المستمر والابتكار، حيث نشجع موظفينا دائما على البحث عن سبل أفضل وأكثر أمانا للعمل، ومن هذا المنطلق مثل المؤتمر الدولي للأفكار العربية ومسابقة الأفكار العربية لأفضل فكرة للعام، التي تعد فرصة هامة لإستعراض ثقافة إشراك الموظفين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ومعايرة أنفسنا مقابل الشركات الأخرى الرائدة".

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن دوبال لعبت دورا رئيسيا في تدشين مؤتمر الأفكار العربية، كإحدى المجموعات الفرعية التابعة لمجموعة دبي للجودة، وعبر دوبال، قدمت شركة الإمارات العالية للألمنيوم دعما كبيرا للمؤتمر والمسابقة منذ تدشينهما في العام 2006.