Clinical laboratory at EGA receives JCI Accreditation

Third facility worldwide to receive clean bill from JCI auditor, confirming excellent quality of care and patient safety standards offered

United Arab Emirates: Evidencing a deep commitment to the well-being of its employees, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) operates on-site medical facilities at its two operating subsidiaries – Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as EGA Jebel Ali) and Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as EGA Al Taweelah). Open seven days a week, these facilities cater for the organisation’s occupational health needs; provide free medical coverage to full-time EGA employees and their families as well as temporary and contractual employees; and respond to emergencies as necessary. The highest standards quality clinical and operating standards are maintained, in keeping with EGA’s commitment to excel in all aspects of the business.

Attesting to this, the in-house clinical laboratory at the EGA Jebel Ali Medical Centre was audited and received Joint Commission International (“JCI”) Accreditation mid-December 2014. The accreditation audit, which was mandated by the Dubai Health Authority (“DHA”), gave EGA Jebel Ali Medical Centre a clean bill. The JCI Auditor, who has performed over 500 audits, advised that the EGA Jebel Ali Medical Centre is only the third facility with no adverse findings – the other two were in Italy and the USA. The official certificate was presented by Dr Peter Gonsalves (Chief Medical Officer, Health & Hygiene at EGA) to Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer at EGA) mid-May 2015, in the presence of the clinical laboratory team.

According to Dr Gonsalves, the EGA Jebel Ali Medical Centre’s clinical laboratory performs an extensive range of routine tests and analysis in the fields of Haematology, Biochemistry, Microbiology and Serology to enable the centre’s physicians to diagnose, manage and treat diseases effectively. “The laboratory is resourced with experienced professional laboratory technicians and this achievement highlights the credibility of the clinical laboratory personnel and the EGA Jebel Ali Medical Centre as a whole,” he said. “JCI Accreditation demonstrates the efficiency, accuracy and cost effectiveness of the clinical laboratory while keeping the main focus on quality and patient safety. It also provides a framework for continuous improvement, which supports EGA’s ambition to excel.”

JCI is an independent, non-profit organisation that evaluates and accredits healthcare organisations. It was founded in the late 1990s to survey hospitals outside the USA, and currently accredits facilities in Asia, Europe, Middle East and South America. The JCI standards support a complete, accurate and objective assessment of clinical laboratory processes and management practices that provide essential services for patients. Hundreds of health care organisations have achieved the gold seal of approval as JCI Accredited entities, ranging from academic medical centres and hospitals to primary care providers and JCI partners with all of these organisations to support their quest for excellence.

The JCI accreditation process is designed to create a culture of safety and quality within an organisation that strives for continuous improvement in patient care processes and results.

“The relationship between accredited entities and JCI does not stop with the initial accreditation,” adds Dr Gonsalves. “To the contrary, JCI will continue to work with the clinical laboratory to help maintain the accreditation, keep pace with new standards and offer guidance on the continuous expectation of performance improvement that JCI accreditation promotes. This is a very positive prospect.”

مختبر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الطبي بموقع جبل علي يحوز شهادة إعتماد اللجنة الدولية المشتركة

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في دليل قوي على عمق إلتزامها تجاه صحة ورفاهية موظفيها، تدير شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مراكزاً طبية متطورة بموقعيها التشغيليين في كل من دوبال، موقع جبل علي - وإيمال، موقع الطويلة. وتعمل تلك المراكز الطبية، التي تفتح أبوابها على مدار الأسبوع، على تلبية متطلبات الصحة المهنية الخاصة بالشركة، وتوفر التغطية الطبية المجانية للموظفين الذين يعملون بدوام كامل وأسرهم وكذلك الموظفين المؤقتين والمتعاقدين، والاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ، عند الضرورة. وتحرص مراكز الشركة الطبية على المحافظة على المعايير الطبية والتشغيلية عند أعلى معايير الجودة، وذلك تمشياً مع التزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالتفوق في جميع جوانب أعمالها التجارية.

وخير دليل على ما سبق، خضوع المختبر الطبي التابع للمركز الطبي بموقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي، للتدقيق وحصوله على إعتماد اللجنة الدولية المشتركة (جيه سي آي)، منتصف ديسمبر 2014. وقد منح كلاً من الإعتماد والتدقيق، الذين تم تنظيمهما بتكليف من هيئة الصحة في دبي، المركز الطبي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل على شهادة Clean Bill، حيث أشار مدقق اللجنة الدولية المشتركة، الذي قام بتنفيذ أكثر من 500 تدقيقاً، إلى أن المركز الطبي في جبل علي هو المرفق الطبي الثالث على مستوى العالم الذي لم يتم العثور فيه على أية نتائج سلبية، حيث يوجد المركزان الآخران في إيطاليا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وقام الدكتور بيتر جونسالفيس، المدير الأول للخدمات الطبية بإدارة الصحة المهنية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتقديم شهادة الإعتماد الرسمية إلى سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة منتصف مايو 2015، بحضور فريق المختبر الطبي.

ووفقا للدكتور جونسالفيس، يقوم المختبر الطبي التابع للمركز الطبي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بإجراء مجموعة واسعة من الفحوصات الروتينية والتحاليل في مجال أمراض الدم والكيمياء الحيوية وعلم الأحياء الدقيقة والأمصال لتمكين أطباء المركز من تشخيص وإدارة وعلاج الأمراض بشكل فعال، حيث أضاف :"تم تعزيز المختبر بالكفاءات الطبية من الفنيين ذوي الخبرة المهنية، حيث يسلط هذا الإنجاز الضوء على مدى مصداقية العاملين في المختبر والمركز الطبي بموقع جبل علي ككل"، ومضى الدكتور جونسالفيس بالقول :" يدل اعتماد اللجنة الدولية المشتركة على كفاءة ودقة وإنخفاض تكاليف المختبر الطبي، وفي نفس الوقت نجاحه في المحافظة على تركيزه الرئيسي على الجودة وسلامة المرضى، كما أنه يمثل إطار عمل لجهود التحسين المستمر، بما يدعم طموحات الشركة في تحقيق التميز والتفوق".

يشار إلى أن اللجنة الدولية المشتركة هي منظمة مستقلة غير ربحية تقوم بتقييم وإعتماد مؤسسات الرعاية الصحية. وقد تأسست اللجنة في أواخر التسعينات للقيام بمسح وإستبيان المستشفيات خارج الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وتقوم حاليا بإعتماد مرافق طبية في آسيا وأوروبا والشرق الأوسط وأمريكا الجنوبية. وتدعم معايير اللجنة الدولية المشتركة توفير تقييما كاملا ودقيقا وموضوعيا للعمليات المخبرية السريرية والممارسات الإدارية التي تقدم الخدمات الأساسية للمرضى. وقد حاز المئات من منظمات الرعاية الصحية على الإعتماد الذهبي لتكون هيئات معتمدة من اللجنة الدولية المشتركة، بدءا من المراكز الطبية الأكاديمية والمستشفيات، وصولا لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية الأولية وشركاء اللجنة الدولية المشتركة، في ظل سعي تلك الجهات جميعا إلى تحقيق التميز.

وتم تصميم عملية الاعتماد الخاصة باللجنة الدولية المشتركة بهدف تعزيز ثقافة السلامة والجودة داخل المؤسسات والشركات التي تسعى جاهدة للتحسين المستمر في عمليات ونتائج رعاية المرضى.

وإختتم الدكتور جونسالفيس تصريحاته بالقول :"لا تتوقف العلاقة بين الكيانات المعتمدة واللجنة الدولية المشتركة عند مرحلة الاعتماد الأولي، بل على العكس، ستواصل اللجنة الدولية المشتركة العمل مع المختبر الطبي للمساعدة في المحافظة على الاعتماد، ومواكبة المعايير الجديدة وتقديم الإرشاد بشأن التوقعات المتواصلة لتحسين الأداء الذي تهدف اللجنة لتعزيزه، وهو ما يعد أمرا بالغ الإيجابية".