EGA supports Earth Hour through “Change Climate Change” campaign

UAE primary aluminium industry leads by example with multifaceted initiative 

United Arab Emirates: Evidencing a deep commitment to sustainability, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) – one of the world’s five largest primary aluminium producers – is again an active participant in Earth Hour this year. With EGA’s operating subsidiaries Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”) and Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”) having participated annually since 2009, Earth Hour 2015 marks the seventh consecutive year of EGA’s involvement in the global Earth Hour movement.

Aiming to encourage responsible corporate citizenship throughout the EGA workforce as well as participation in Earth Hour 2015, EGA has hosted an awareness campaign during the week leading up to the global event, which takes place from 20:30 to 21:30 on Saturday 28 March. Then, as in prior years, EGA and its employees will participate actively during Earth Hour by switching of non-essential lighting at EGA’s business premises and in employees’ homes.

Reflecting the Earth Hour 2015 theme, “Use your power to change climate change”, the EGA “Change Climate Change” campaign emphasised the importance of operating EGA’s business in a responsible manner and in ways that do not jeopardize the environment or deplete the world’s limited natural resources. It also highlighted the need to go beyond the event, by continually looking at ways to operate more efficiently, waste less, and reduce one’s ecological footprint. Various communications channels were used to spread the word, including email, e-posters, intranet banners, PC wallpaper, and bulk SMS-messaging to EGA employees. E-posters were been sent to customers, suppliers and contractors to advise them of EGA’s participation in Earth Hour 2015 and to encourage them to join the movement.

Several initiatives were launched as part of EGA’s “Change Climate Change” campaign, such as:

  •           Encouraging the use of the Dubai Metro by distributing over 400 NOL cards to EGA employees living on-site at DUBAL and simultaneously suspending all bus services to and from the city on Saturday 28 March;
  •           Planting 250 trees at DUBAL’s Jebel Ali site;
  •           Hosting an Earth Hour quiz for employees, for which environment-friendly prizes can be won; and
  •           Conducting sessions at the Al Iman School and the Dubai National Charity School in early-March, where students learnt about the importance of the event as well as how they can incorporate conservation practices into their daily lives.

“Protecting the environment and contributing meaningfully to the communities where we operate are among EGA’s core values,” says Khalid Buhumaid (Senior Vice President, Communication & Government Relations). “As a responsible organisation, we focus on sustainable practices – be it recycling our products and by-products, adopting energy-efficient methods or instilling an environmentally conscious culture among our employees through green initiatives. This “Change Climate Change” campaign and our participation in Earth Hour 2015 reflect EGA’s commitment to optimising energy consumption and minimising the impact of our operations on the environment. While switching-off all unnecessary lighting and equipment for an hour will conserve energy, EGA believes that supporting the greater goals of Earth Hour will help to instil a long-term commitment in our employees to protect the environment and help tackle climate change.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدعم "ساعة الأرض 2015" بتدشين حملة "الحد من التغيّر المناخي"

صناعة الألمنيوم الأولي الإماراتية مثالاً يحتذى به عبر تدشين مبادرات بيئية متعددة.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في دليل على إلتزامها تجاه الإستدامة، تشارك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم - إحدى أكبر خمسة منتجين للألمنيوم الأولي في العالم - مرة أخرى في فعاليات حملة ساعة الأرض لهذا العام. وفي ضوء مشاركة الشركات التشغيلية التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، -شركة دبي للألمنيوم ("دوبال") وشركة الإمارات للألمنيوم ("إيمال")- بفعاليات حملة ساعة الأرض منذ العام 2009، تمثل دورة العام 2015 العام السابع على التوالي الذي تشارك فيه الشركة في هذه التظاهرة العالمية الرامية إلى المحافظة على البيئة.

وفي إطار سعيها إلى تشجيع وتعزيز مفهوم المسؤولية الاجتماعية بين صفوف موظفي الشركة، فضلاً عن المشاركة في فعاليات حملة ساعة الأرض 2015، نظمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حملة توعية خلال الأسبوع الذي يسبق الإحتفال بهذا الحدث العالمي الذي ينعقد ما بين الساعة 20:30 حتي الساعة 21:30 يوم السبت الموافق 28 مارس. وكما في السنوات السابقة، تشارك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وموظفيها بنشاط خلال فعاليات ساعة الأرض عن طريق فصل الإضاءة غير الضرورية في المباني الإدارية للشركة ومنازل الموظفين.

وفي تجسيد لشعار حملة ساعة الأرض للعام 2015، بعنوان "استخدم قوتك لتغيير تغيّر المناخ"، ركزت حملة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، التي حملت شعار "الحد من التغيّر المناخي" على مدى أهمية إدارة أعمال الشركة بطريقة مسؤولة وبأساليب لا تضر بالبيئة أو تستنفذ الموارد الطبيعية العالمية المحدودة . كما سلطت الضوء على ضرورة مواصلة تلك الجهود بعد مرور إحتفالات ساعة الأرض، من خلال النظر باستمرار في سبل العمل بشكل أكثر كفاءة، وتقليص النفايات، وخفض الآثار البيئية للأفراد. وتم الإستعانة بقنوات الاتصال المختلفة لنشر وتعزيز هذا الرسالة.. كما تم توزيع الملصقات الإلكترونية على العملاء والموردين والمقاولين لإبلاغهم بمشاركة الشركة بحملة ساعة الأرض 2015، وتشجيعهم على الانضمام إلى هذه المبادرة العالمية.

وتم تدشين العديد من المبادرات كجزء من حملةشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم "الحد من التغير المناخي"، مثل:

  • تشجيع استخدام مترو دبي من خلال توزيع أكثر من 400 بطاقة نول على موظفي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الذين يعيشون في موقع دوبال السكني بالتزامن مع تعليق جميع خدمات الحافلات من وإلى المدينة يوم السبت 28 مارس.
  • غرس 250 شجرة في موقع دوبال بجبل علي.
  • استضافة مسابقة ساعة الأرض للموظفين، حيث أمكنهم الفوز بجوائز صديقة للبيئة.
  • تنظيم جلسات في مدرسة الإيمان ومدرسة دبي الوطنية الخيرية أوائل شهر مارس، لتعريف الطلاب بأهمية هذا الحدث العالمي وكيف يمكنهم دمج ممارسات المحافظة على البيئة ضمن أنشطة حياتهم اليومية.

ويقول السيد/ خالد عيسى بوحميد (نائب أول الرئيس للاتصال والعلاقات الحكومية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم) :"تمثل قيمة حماية البيئة والمساهمة بصورة واعية في المجتمعات التي نعمل فيها واحدة من القيم الأساسية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وإنطلاقاً من كوننا شركة مسؤولة إجتماعياً، فإننا نركز على الممارسات المستدامة - سواء كان ذلك عبر إعادة تدوير منتجاتنا والمنتجات الثانوية، واعتماد الأساليب الموفرة للطاقة أو غرس ثقافة الوعي البيئي بين موظفينا من خلال المبادرات الخضراء، حيث تعكس حملة "الحد من التغيّر المناخي" هذه فضلاً عن مشاركتنا في فعاليات ساعة الأرض 2015 مدى التزام الشركة تجاه تحسين استهلاك الطاقة والتقليل من تأثير عملياتنا على البيئة. وفي الوقت الذي يسهم فيه فصل الإضاءة والمعدات غير الضرورية لمدة ساعة في توفير والمحافظة على الطاقة، تؤمن شركة الإمارات العالمة للألمنيوم بأن دعم الأهداف الأعرض لحملة ساعة الأرض سوف يساعد على غرس التزام طويل الأجل لدى موظفينا تجاه حماية البيئة والمساعدة في الحد من تغيّر المناخ ".