EMAL products rated for sustainable building by LEED and DGNB

Development marks an important milestone in achieving sustainability ambitions

Products manufactured by Emirates Aluminium Company Limited PJSC (“EMAL”) – an operating subsidiary of Emirates Global Aluminium PJSC (“EGA”) and the world’s largest single-site primary aluminium smelter – have been declared suitable for sustainable building practices, as per the applicable criteria defined by two internationally acclaimed bodies, namely:

  • The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (“LEED”) green building programme launched by the US Green Building Council (“USGBC”); and
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen e.V. (“DGNB”, which translates as the German Sustainable Building Council), which strongly promotes sustainable and economically efficient building.

The declaration follows rigorous assessment of EMAL’s products by an independent agency, GCAS. “These expert assessments and declarations provide a competitive advantage for EMAL’s products, both in catering for our existing markets and acquiring niche markets for our value-added products,” says Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer). “They will also instill stronger and more sustained customer confidence – which is vital in today’s globalised and industrialised economy where environmental protection is a prime area of focus.”

Products manufactured by EGA’s other operating subsidiary in the midstream aluminium sector, Dubai Aluminium PJSC (“DUBAL”), were declared suitable for sustainable building practices by the same two organisations in 2013.

The combined DUBAL-EMAL portfolio comprises more than 500 individual, high quality primary aluminium products, many of which are made to customer specifications. Products are manufactured in three main categories: high purity and foundry re-melt products (for electronics and aerospace and automotive applications respectively); rolled products (for packaging, lithographic sheets and the automotive industry); and billets for extrusion and forging (for construction, industrial, transportation and automotive purposes). Over 350 customers are served in at least 68 countries, predominantly in Asia, Europe, the MENA region and the Americas.

“The LEED and DGNB ratings of EMAL products are a major development for EGA, as about 46 per cent of our total annual production comprises aluminium billets that are used extensively by extruders to produce construction components – such as window and door frames,” says Walid Al Attar (Chief Marketing Officer). “The international rating of suitability for use in sustainable building practices places the products manufactured by both DUBAL and EMAL in a strong position to be specified by end-users in the building and construction industry worldwide.”

Al Attar adds that the LEED and DGNB sustainability ratings also represent a key differentiator in the local market, where billets account for the major proportion of annual sales. “New laws have been enacted in the UAE, whereby the incorporation of sustainable measures is mandatory in all new construction projects in the Emirates as of 2014,” he explains. “The suitability of our products is tangible evidence of EGA’s support for the government’s green building agenda, simultaneously confirming the success of our efforts to produce ‘green metal’ as part of our overall sustainable business philosophy and supporting strategies to minimise the impact of our business on the environment.”

هيئتان دوليتان تعلنان ملائمة منتجات إيمال لممارسات البناء المستدام

تم مؤخرا الإعلان عن ملائمة منتجات شركة الإمارات للألمنوم (إيمال)، -إحدى الشركات التشغيلية التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وأضخم مصهر فردي للألمنيوم الأولي في العالم-، لممارسات البناء المستدام، وفقا للمعايير المعمول بها من جانب إثنتين من الهيئات الدولية، وهي:

  • برنامج الريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئيللمباني الصديقة للبيئة الذي دشنه المجلس الأمريكي للمباني الصديقة للبيئة.
  • برنامج المجلس الألماني للمباني المستدامة، الذي يهدف بقوة إلى تعزيز مفهوم المباني المستدامة ذات الكفاءة الإقتصادية.

وجاء هذا الإعلان في أعقاب تقييم دقيق لمنتجات إيمال من جانب وكالة التقييم المستقلة "جي سي آيه إس"، حيث يقول السيد/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"تضفي هذه التقييمات المستقلة وإعلان الخبراء الدوليين عن ملائمة منتجاتنا لممارسات البناء المستدامة، ميزة تنافسية على منتجات إيمال، سواء من ناحية خدمة أسوقنا الحالية أو إكتساب أسواق جديدة لمنتجاتنا ذات القيمة المضافة". ومضى السيد/ عبدالله كلبان بالقول :"تسهم تلك التقييمات المستقلة أيضا في تعزيز وإستدامة ثقة عملائنا القوية، التي تعد عنصرا حيويا في ظل الإقتصاد العالمي في يومنا هذا الذي يتسم بالعولمة وتنامي الجانب الصناعي، حيث تمثل الحماية البيئية منطقة تركيز رئيسية".

وكان قد تم أيضا الإعلان عن ملائمة منتجات شركة دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال)، إحدى الشركات التشغيلية التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، لممارسات البناء المستدام من جانب نفس الهيئتن الدوليتين، في العام 2013.

يشار إلى أن قائمة منتجات دوبال وإيمال تتكون من أكثر من 500 منتجا فرديا من منتجات الألمنيوم فائقة النقاء، والتي يتم تصنيع الكثير منها وفق متطلبات العملاء. يتم تصنيع منتجات الألمنيوم ضمن ثلاث أشكال هي السبائك فائقة النقاء وسبائك الخلائط لإعادة الصهر (لإستخدامات الإلكترونيات وصناعات الفضاء وتطبيقات السيارات، على الترتيب)، وسبائك ألواح الألمنيوم (لصناعة التغليف وصفائح الطباعة الحجرية وصناعة السيارات)، وإسطوانات السحب (لتطبيقات الإنشاءات والمواصلات وصناعة محركات السيارات والتطبيقات الصناعية). ويتم تصدير منتجات الشركة إلى أكثر من 350 عميلاً في نحو 68 دولة، غالبيتهم في أسيا وأوروبا والشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا والأمريكتين.

من جانبه قال السيد/ وليد العطار، الرئيس التنفيذي للتسويق :"يمثل تصنيف كلا من برنامج الريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئيللمباني الصديقة للبيئة الذي دشنه المجلس الأمريكي للمباني الصديقة للبيئة، وبرنامج المجلس الألماني للمباني المستدامة، تطورا كبيرا بالنسبة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، خاصة وأن نحو 46 في المئة من إنتاجها الإجمالي يتكون من ألواح الألمنيوم التي تستخدم على نطاق واسع من جانب شركات سحب الألمنيوم لإنتاج مكونات ومواد البناء، مثل إطارات النوافذ والأبواب"، ومضى العطار بالقول :"ايضا هذا التصنيف الدولي لملائمة الإستخدام في ممارسات البناءيضع منتجات دوبال وإيمال في مكانة قوية يحددها المستخدمون النهائيون بمجال صناعة البناء والإنشاءات على مستوى العالم".

ويشير العطار إلى أن تصنيفات الإستدامة هذه تمثل أيضا عوامل تميُّز أساسية في السوق المحلية حيث تشكل ألواح الألمنيوم الحصة الأكبر من المبيعات السنوية، حيث أضاف :"تم سن قوانين جديدة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تلزم تضمين معايير الإستدامة في جميع المشروعات الإنشائية الجديدة في الدولة إعتبارا من 2014، وبالتالي تمثل إستدامة منتجاتنا دليلا ملموسا على دعم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لمبادرة الحكومة للمباني الخضراء وتؤكد في الوقت نفسه على نجاح جهودنا لإنتاج "منتجات ألمنيوم صديقة للبيئة"- في إطار فلسفتنا للإستدامة الشاملة-، وتدعم إستراتيجيات الحد من تأثير عملياتنا على البيئة".