EGA hosts Male Cancer Campaign

Event highlighted importance of early detection

United Arab Emirates: Aiming to raise awareness of male-specific cancers, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) recently hosted its first-ever Male Cancer Campaign on Monday 26 January 2015, as a forum to provide information to its employees on how to recognise the early symptoms as well as the treatment options available. Held in partnership with Friends of Cancer Patients (“FoCP”), the event featured representatives from the charity along with doctors from Khalifa Hospital and NMC Urocare, as well as EGA’s in-house medical team who collectively engaged with employees on the key health issues.

Focusing on lung, skin, prostate and testicular cancers in particular, the event encouraged open dialogue and knowledge. “Limited awareness of the symptoms and effects of male cancers is exacerbated by the cultural sensitivities surrounding the topic. The message we aimed to communicate to our employees through this MaleCancer Campaign is that early detection is key. It is important to create a conversation that enables men to recognise the signs and take action accordingly. With males accounting for 94 per cent of our 7,000-strong workforce, EGA felt a responsibility to bring attention to the subject,” said Khalid Buhumaid (Senior Vice President: Communications & Government Relations at EGA).

During the event, FoCP shared insights from their work in the region and encouraged anyone concerned to visit a doctor. The medical panel also conducted presentations specific to each health issue and interacted with attendees in small breakout sessions, thus giving employees the opportunity to ask questions and learn more about the issues that concern them most.

Buhumaid added, “EGA offers a dedicated medical service to all employees, so anyone with health-related concerns is assured of access to medical consultation. Our intention with this campaign was not to alarm our employees but rather to provide helpful information.”

The response to the Male Cancer Campaign 2015 exceeded expectations, with over 300 employees attending the sessions conducted at EGA’s Al Taweelah and Jebel Ali sites. Inspired by the number of attendees, and as part of an on-going commitment to the wellbeing of its employees, EGA plans to hold the event annually.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تنظم أولى حملاتها للتوعية بأمراض السرطان عند الرجال

بحضور أكثر من 300 موظفاً بموقعيها في الطويلة وجبل علي

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في إطار سعيها إلى تعزيز الوعي العام بأمراض السرطان عند الرجال، نظمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مؤخراً أولى حملاتها للتوعية بأمراض السرطان عند الرجال يوم الإثنين 26 يناير 2015، كمنتدى لتزويد موظفيها بمعلومات حول كيفية التعرف على الأعراض المبكرة والخيارات العلاجية المتاحة. وشهدت الحملة، التي تم تنظيمها بالشراكة مع جمعية أصدقاء مرضى السرطان، مشاركة ممثلون عن هذه الجمعية الخيرية إلى جانب أطباء من مستشفى خليفة ومركز "إن إم سي أوروكير"، والفريق الطبي في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، والذين تفاعلوا جميعا مع موظفي الشركة حول أهم المخاطر والمشكلات الصحية.

وشجعت الحملة، التي ركزت بشكل خاص على أمراض سرطان الرئة والجلد والبروستاتا والخصية، على توفير نقاش مفتوح وتعزيز مستويات المعرفة، حيث قال السيد/ خالد عيسى بوحميد، (نائب أول للرئيس :الإتصال والشؤون الحكومية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم) :"تتأثر مستويات الوعي المحدود بأعراض وآثار أمراض سرطان الرجال سلبياً بالحساسيات الثقافية التي تحيط الموضوع. حيث تمثلت الرسالة التي هدفنا لتوصيلها إلى موظفينا عبر حملة السرطان عند الرجال في أن الكشف المبكر هو الحل، حيث أنه من المهم بدء حوار يمكّن الرجال من التعرف على الأعراض واتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة، وفي ظل تشكيل الموظفين الرجال لنسبة 94% من الموظفين البالغ عددهم 7000 موظف، تدرك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مسؤوليتها تجاه تسليط الضوء على هذا الموضوع الهام".

وخلال الحملة إستعرض ممثلو جمعية أصدقاء مرضى السرطان خبراتهم الناتجة عن عملهم في المنطقة وشجعوا من لديه مخاوف على مراجعة الطبيب. وقدم الفريق الطبي أيضاً عروضاً تقديمية خاصة بكل مشكلة صحية، وتفاعل مع الحضور عبر جلسات جانبية صغيرة، ما منح الموظفين فرصة لطرح الأسئلة ومعرفة المزيد عن المواضيع التي تهمهم.

وأضاف السيد/ خالد عيسى بوحميد :"تقدم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم خدمات طبية متخصصة لجميع الموظفين، بحيث و يمكن لأي موظف لديه مخاوف صحية بالحصول على الاستشارة الطبية. كما أن هدفنا من تنظيم هذه الحملة يتجسد في توفير معلومات مفيدة لموظفينا ".

وقد حظيت حملة السرطان عند الرجال 2015 بإهتمام فاق التوقعات مع حضور أكثر من 300 موظفا لجلسات الحملة بموقعي شركة الإمارات العالمة للألمنيوم في الطويلة وجبل علي، وبسبب هذا الزخم والإهتمام الكبيرين، جنبا إلى جنب الإلتزام المتواصل بصحة ورفاهية الموظفين، تخطط شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لتنظيم الحملة سنوياً.