EGA drive raised funds for Rashid Centre for disabled

Cheque for AED 100,000 presented during Omega DDC prize-giving ceremony

United Arab Emirates: Rashid Centre for Disabled benefited immensely from a charitable initiative launched by Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) during the 26th edition of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic (“DDC”), with Haroun Al Olama (Board member of Rashid Centre) ultimately receiving a cheque in the amount of AED100,000 during the tournament prize-giving ceremony on 1 February 2015. EGA’s Walid Al Attar (Chief Marketing Officer) and Khalifa Al Mazrouei (Associate Manager, Corporate & Government Relations) officiated on behalf of the company

In essence, EGA – which has been an official sponsor of the European Tour event since 1992 –contributed AED 50 for every birdie and AED 100 for every eagle scored during the four-day tournament, which took place at Emirates Golf Club from 29 January to 1 February. By close of play on the final day, the tournament had produced 1,598 birdies and 28 eagles, giving a total value of AED 82,700 – which EGA rounded up to the sum presented. This year’s statistics reflected the participation of world number one Rory McIlroy – who won the tournament with a comfortable three-stroke lead, along with other past champions such as two-time winner Stephen Gallagher, three-time winner Ernie Els, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Henrik Stenson and Alvaro Quiros.

Additionally, EGA invited a group of children from Rashid Centre for Disabled to attend the tournament, which once again featured a ‘family theme’. The children had the opportunity to meet some of the top players competing in the event and enjoyed the carnival-like atmosphere at the tournament village.

This is the second year that EGA has used the players’ achievements for a charity drive. The 2014 tournament produced 1,549 birdies and 34 eagles, giving a value of AED 80,850 – which was also rounded up to AED 100,000 and donated to Dubai Centre for Special Needs.

“EGA’s involvement in the Omega DDC is motivated by our corporate commitment to support the broader goals of the UAE government, specifically by showcasing our country to international audiences which, in turn, contributes to the socio-economic growth the nation,” commented Mohammed Yahya (Manager, PMO: Communication & Government Relations). “Each year, we leverage our sponsorship of the event to benefit a selected charitable organization, with preference being given to the disadvantaged and disabled in our society. Rashid Centre for Disabled does excellent work in providing education and therapy services to children with special needs and we are confident that these funds will be put to good use.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تتبرع بـ 100 ألف درهم لصالح مركز راشد للمعاقين

على هامش حفل توزيع جوائز بطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك 2015

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: حصد مركز راشد للمعاقين ثمار المبادرة الخيرية التي نظمتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم خلال الدورة الـ26 لبطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك، حيث تسلم هارون العلما، عضو مجلس إدارة المركز شيكا بقيمة 100 ألف درهم خلال حفل توزيع جوائز البطولة يوم الأول من فبراير 2015، بحضور كلاً من السيد/ وليد العطار، الرئيس التنفيذي للتسويق، والسيد/ خليفة المزروعي، المدير: إدارة العلاقات الحكومية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

وتبرعت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، الراعي الرسمي لبطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك، إحدى بطولات الجولة الأوروبية، منذ العام 1992، بمبلغ 50 درهماً عن كل نقطة "بيردي" و100 درهماً عن كل نقطة "إيجل" تم تسجيلها على مدار أربعة أيام خلال البطولة التي إستضافها نادي الإمارات للجولف في الفترة من 29 يناير وحتى 1 فبراير. ومع ختام منافسات اليوم الأخير، تم تسجيل 1,598 نقطة "بيردي" و28 نقطة "إيجل" بقيمة تبرعات إجمالية بلغت 82,700 درهماً قامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بزيادتها وصولا إلى مبلغ التبرع. وقد عكست إحصائيات نقاط هذا العام مدى المشاركة القوية للاعب رقم واحد في العالم روي ماكلروي، الذي فاز بكأس البطولة بفارق ثلاث ضربات، جنباً إلى جنب أبطال الدورات السابقة للبطولة مثل ستيفين جالاجر الفائز مرتين بكأس البطولة، وإيرني إيلس الفائز ثلاث مرات بكأس البطولة، ورافايل كابريرا-بيلو، وألفارو كويروس.

وقامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضاً بدعوة مجموعة من أطفال مركز راشد للمعاقين لحضور البطولة التي ضمت مرة أخرى أنشطة عائلية، حيث أتيحت الفرصة للأطفال للإلتقاء مع عدد من أشهر اللاعبين والإستمتاع بالأجواء الإحتفالية في "قرية البطولة".

يشار إلى أن دورة العام 2015 تمثل العام الثاني على التوالي الذي تقوم فيه شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالإستفادة من البطولة للأغراض الخيرية، حيث شهدت دورة العام 2014 تسجيل 1,549 نقطة "بيردي" و34 نقطة "إيجل" بقيمة 80,850 درهما، قامت الشركة أيضا بزيادتها وصولا إلى مبلغ الـ100 ألف درهم والتبرع بها لصالح مركز دبي لذوي الإحتاجات الخاصة.

وقال السيد/ محمد يحيى، مدير إدارة الإتصال والعلاقات الحكومية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"تمثل رعايتنا لبطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك إنعكاساً جلياً لإلتزامنا الراسخ بدعم الأهداف العامة لحكومة الإمارات، خاصة عبر تسليط أنظار الجمهور العالمي على دولتنا، وهو ما يسهم بدوره في تعزيز مسيرة التنمية الإجتماعية والإقتصادية للإمارات، كما نقوم كل عام بالإستفادة من رعايتنا للبطولة لجمع التبرعات لصالح المؤسسات والجمعيات الخيرية، خاصة تلك التي تعنى بشؤون ذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة في مجتمعنا، حيث يقوم مركز راشد للمعاقين بجهود ممتازة لتوفير التعليم والخدمات العلاجية للأطفال من ذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة ونحن على ثقة من أن تلك التبرعات سيتم الإستفادة منها على أفضل شكل".