Quest for innovation to secure technology patent for EGA

State-owned aluminium giant working with Takamul to protect in-house technology advances

United Arab Emirates: From inception in 1979, the operating subsidiaries of Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) have been committed to achieving operational excellence through continuous improvement and innovation in the aluminium smelting process so as to produce the world's best quality aluminium products, made-to-order and delivered direct to customers, while achieving maximum operating efficiencies. It’s a quest that has yielded multiple in-house developed technologies that enhance production processes, achieve higher production volumes, optimise raw material and energy consumption levels, improve operational safety and minimise environmental impact. 

More recently, efforts have been launched to protect the company’s inventions through applications to patent EGA’s proprietary technologies. Since 2014, EGA has worked closely with Takamul in developing and submitting the required patent application documentation. An innovation support programme developed and operated by the Abu Dhabi Technology Development Committee (“TDC”), Takamul’s mission is to help Emirati individuals, universities and enterprises in Abu Dhabi and the wider UAE, to protect and commercialize their innovative ideas. 

A case in point is the Anode-Rod Tracking System developed in-house by EGA’s operating subsidiary, Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as EGA Jebel Ali Operations), for which a patent application was filed by EGA in December 2014. After evaluation by Takamul’s Patent Review Committee, approval for financial support was granted in March 2015. 

Initiated in the 1990s, the aim of the Anode-Rod Tracking System is to track individual anodes and rods at each stage of the process – from anode production to anode rodding, through the smelter operation (potrooms) and back to anode rodding (for recycling of the anode butts and rod assemblies). An industry survey revealed that no system was available on the market that could fulfil DUBAL’s requirements. A pilot study was therefore launched to verify the use of an intelligent scanning concept to measure the performance of the anodes and rods by monitoring specific attributes at key stages and recording the findings against uniquely identified rod assemblies. After completing the pilot study in July 2007, implementation of the system at industrial scale began in 2008. 

Diverse enhancements have been implemented subsequently. For example, the project began as a system for tracking the rods, but was then extended to include tracking of the anodes, too. By linking the details of the rods and anodes, a comprehensive data cycle has become available. All information can now be traced relating to individual anodes – from the raw materials through to removing the anode butts from the rod assemblies, and including pertinent information to identify where the anode was consumed during the process phase in the potrooms (i.e. pot, cell and stall number). Net and gross carbon consumption can now be measured more accurately, anode problems can be evaluated, raw material performance can be assessed, rod assemblies can be managed, and individual/collective pot performance can be monitored. The latter provides opportunities to identify process improvement projects within the smelter, leading to optimised net carbon consumption (an essential part of DUBAL’s carbon management strategy) and financial savings.  

Importantly, both the initial system and the later improvements were developed entirely in-house at DUBAL. A twelve-member cross-functional team worked on the Anode-Rod Tracking System, with representatives from the automation, operations, process control, maintenance and information technology departments. Third party solution providers were engaged to supply various components and software, which were customised to DUBAL’s specifications; as well as for technical advice during system trouble-shooting and to supplement the company’s technical resources.

DUBAL’s Mariam Abdulrahman M Musallam Al Marzooqi, who holds a Bachelor’s in Electrical Communication Engineering and a Master’s in Strategic Project Management, lead the project and also served on the project team. “Extensive research and development went into this project, with much exploration of options followed by testing and deployment of suitable solutions,” says Mariam. “We faced many challenges during the technical development and execution stages, which we overcame successfully by leveraging the knowledge and expertise of the team and never giving up on our determination to deliver a system that would contribute measurable improvements. The end-result is a system that fulfils our immediate needs, but is also future-proof as it is adaptable and customisable to any smelter technology.”

EGA’s innovation focus is fully aligned with that of the United Arab Emirates (“UAE”), and underscore’s the company’s proud position as the industrial flagship of the UAE. Indeed 2015 is the Year of Innovation in the United Arab Emirates (“UAE”), as declared by His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan (President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi) and endorsed by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (GBE, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai), who has asserted that government must be engines of innovation.

حماية منجزات الابتكار في الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتسجيلها كبراءات اختراع

شركة الألمنيوم الوطنية العملاقة تتعاون مع برنامج "تكامل" لحفظ حقوق الملكية الفكرية لابتكاراتها 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: التزمت المصاهر التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم منذ انطلاقتها الأولى عام 1979 بتحقيق التميّز في كافة عملياتها. وعبر ترسيخ ثقافة الابتكار وسياسة التحسين المستمر في مختلف مراحل إنتاج الألمنيوم، أصبحت منتجاتها ضمن الأجود في العالم وحلّت عملياتها في أعلى مستويات الكفاءة. وهذا المسار المتواصل أثمر عن العديد من التقنيات التي تم ابتكارها داخل الشركة؛ فعززت عمليات الإنتاج وزادت حجمها وحققت الاستفادة القصوى من المواد الخام وموارد الطاقة، بالتزامن مع تقليص أي تأثيرات بيئية إلى حدها الأدنى والارتقاء بمعايير السلامة.

وقد عززت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مؤخراً جهودها لحماية اختراعات الشركة من خلال تقديم طلبات تسجيل براءات اختراع لابتكاراتها التكنولوجية في مختلف عمليات الإنتاج. ومنذ عام 2014، باشرت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم التعاون مع برنامج "تكامل" الوطني لدعم الابتكار من "لجنة أبوظبي لتطوير التكنولوجيا" في مجال تسجيل براءات الاختراع. ويهدف برنامج تكامل لمساندة الأفراد والمؤسسات الأكاديمية والشركات في أبوظبي ودولة الإمارات في حماية أفكارهم المبتكرة وتحقيق عوائد تجارية مجزية لها.

وفي هذا السياق، حقق مصهر الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم – جبل علي (دوبال) ابتكاراً نوعياً هو "نظام تتبع قضبان الأنود". وقد تم تقديم طلب تسجيل براءة اختراع لهذا الابتكار من طرف الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في ديسمبر 2014، وحصل على الدعم المادي من برنامج "تكامل" لتسجيل براءة الاختراع في مارس 2015 بعد تقييم شامل أجرته لجنة مراجعة الطلبات التابعة للبرنامج. 

أما الهدف من نظام تتبع قضبان الأنود، الذي تم تدشينه في التسعينيات، فهو تتبع الأقطاب الموجبة (الأنودات) والقضبان الفردية في كل مرحلة من مراحل العمليات –  بدءاً من إنتاج الأنود إلى قضبنة الأقطاب الموجبة، مروراً بعمليات المصهر (غرف الإنتاج)، وحتى قضبنة الأقطاب الموجبة مجدداً (لأغراض إعادة تدوير أعقاب الأنود وتجميع الأعقاب). وبعدما كشف استطلاع صناعي عن عدم توفر نظام مماثل في السوق يمكنه الإيفاء بمتطلبات دوبال،  تم تنفيذ دراسة تجريبية داخلية للتحقق من إمكانية نجاح استخدام مفهوم المسح الذكي لقياس أداء الأنودات والقضبان؛ وذلك عبر رصد سمات محددة أثناء المراحل الرئيسية، وتسجيل نتائج الأنود التي يتم تحديدها بشكل فريد. بعد الانتهاء من الدراسة التجريبية في شهر يوليو 2007، بدأ تطبيق النظام عام 2008 على نطاق صناعي.

وقد شهد هذا النظام المبتكر العديد من التحسينات. فبعد أن بدأ المشروع كنظام لتتبع الأعقاب، تم بعد ذلك توسيع نطاقه ليشمل أيضا تتبع الأقطاب الموجبة (الأنودات). فمن خلال ربط المعلومات عن القضبان والأنودات، توفرت قاعدة بيانات شاملة. ويمكن الآن تتبع جميع المعلومات المتعلقة بالأنودات الفردية –  بدءاً من المواد الخام عبر إزالة أعقاب الأقطاب الموجبة من قوالب الصب، وحتى تضمين المعلومات ذات الصلة لتحديد مكان إستهلاك الأقطاب الموجبة خلال العمليات بغرف الإنتاج (مثل الوعاء، والخلية، ورقم المنصة). ويمكن حاليا قياس صافي وإجمالي استهلاك الكربون، وتقييم مشاكل الأقطاب الموجبة، وتقييم أداء المواد الخام، وإدارة عملية تجميع الأقطاب، والرصد الفردي/ الجماعي لأداء البوتقة، حيث يوفر هذا الأخير الفرصة لتحديد مشاريع تحسين العملية داخل المصهر، ما يؤدي إلى تحسين صافي استهلاك الكربون (وهو جزء أساسي من استراتيجية إدارة الكربون في الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم – جبل علي "دوبال") والتوفير في التكاليف.

جدير بالذكر أن عملية تطوير كلٍ من النظام الأولي والتحسينات اللاحقة تمت بشكل كامل داخل دوبال، حيث عمل فريق متعدد الاختصاصات من 12 عضواً على نظام تتبع قضبان الأنود، جنباً إلى جنب مع ممثلين عن إدارات التشغيل الآلي، والعمليات، والتحكم بالعمليات، والصيانة، وتكنولوجيا المعلومات، فضلاً عن قيام مزودين خارجيين بتوريد مختلف المكونات والبرمجيات التي تم تصميمها خصيصاً وفق مواصفات دوبال، وتقديم المشورة الفنية خلال إصلاح أعطال النظام، وتعزيز الموارد التقنية للشركة.

وقادت المشروع المهندسة مريم عبدالرحمن محمد مسلم المرزوقي من الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم – جبل علي "دوبال"، -الحاصلة على بكالوريوس هندسة الاتصالات الكهربائية وماجستير إدارة المشاريع الاستراتيجية، وعملت ضمن فريقها. وقالت المرزوقي أن المشروع: "تطلّب الكثير من البحث والتطوير، مع تجريب العديد من الخيارات قبل اختيار وتوظيف الحلول المناسبة." وتابعت: "واجهنا العديد من التحديات خلال مراحل التطوير الفني والتطبيق، إلا أننا تغلبنا عليها بنجاح، عبر الاستفادة من المعارف والخبرات التي يتمتع بها الفريق دون التخلي أبدا عن تصميمنا على تقديم نظام من شأنه أن يسهم في تقديم تحسينات ملموسة قابلة للقياس. والنتيجة النهائية هي تطوير نظام يلبي احتياجاتنا الحالية والمستقبلية، خاصة في ظل إمكانية تعديل النظام لملائمة أي من تقنيات الصهر".

ويسهم التزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالإبتكار، في تحقيق رؤية دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في هذا المجال، مرسّخاً الموقع الريادي للشركة كصرح صناعي متميز على مستوى الدولة والمنطقة، ومؤكداً تماشيسياساتها التشغيلية والإنتاجية مع إعلان صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس الدولة، عام 2015 عاماً للابتكار، وتنفيذها الاستراتيجية الوطنية للابتكار التي أطلقها صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة، رئيس مجلس الوزراء، حاكم دبي.