EGA helps employees ‘Beat The Heat’ this Summer

Annual campaign promotes health awareness through self-empowerment against risks

United Arab Emirates: Thanks to its annual the ‘Beat the Heat and Be Safe’ programme, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) has again achieved zero Lost Time Injuries (“LTIs”) from heat-related illnesses in 2015. The initiative – launched in 2006 as ‘Beat the Heat’ and renamed ‘Beat the Heat and Be Safe’ in 2011 – highlights the risks of occupation-related heat exposure and raises awareness of the health problems that can be caused by high summer temperatures in general.

Running from March to September, the 2015 Beat the Heat and Be Safe campaign comprised a number of initiatives including awareness training, hydration tests and health screening for those with a previous history of heat-related illness as well as those taking medication. Heat awareness handbooks and hydration charts were widely distributed and employees were given the opportunity to submit ideas for a Suggestion Scheme award specifically dedicated to the campaign. A total of 3,799 employees attended the awareness training sessions and 8,761 hydration tests were performed by EGA’s medical team.

Commenting on the importance of the programme, Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO: EGA) said, “One of EGA’s corporate values is to ‘protect’ which, among other areas, prioritizes health and safety in the workplace. Our working environment can be particularly challenging in the summer months and a proactive approach is essential for ensuring that our employees are safe and comfortable.”

Evidently delighted at the programme’s continued success, Kalban added, “2015 is the tenth consecutive year that we have achieved zero LTIs from heat-related illnesses. This is testament to the high level of employee engagement in the initiative and the overall effectiveness of focusing attention on the issues in a constructive and practical manner.”

نجاح حملة "تغلب على الحرارة " في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم

2015 هو العام العاشر على التوالي الذي تحقق فيه الشركة النسبة "الصفرية" من الوقت المفقود جراء الإصابات الناجمة عن  الأمراض المرتبطة بارتفاع درجات الحرارة.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: بفضل برنامجها السنوي "تغلب على الحرارة وكن آمنا"، نجحت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مرة ثانية في تحقيق النسبة "الصفرية" من الوقت المفقود جراء الإصابات الناجمة عن الأمراض المرتبطة بارتفاع درجات الحرارة في العام 2015. وتهدف المبادرة - التي تم تدشينها في العام 2006، تحت إسم " تغلب على الحرارة "ومن ثم تغيير إسمها إلى "تغلب على الحرارة وكن آمنا" في العام 2011 -  إلى تسليط الضوء على المخاطر الناجمة عن التعرض للحرارة، والإرتقاء بالوعي العام للموظفين حول المشاكل الصحية التي يمكن أن تسببها درجات حرارة الصيف المرتفعة، بشكل عام.

وإمتدت فعاليات حملة "تغلب على الحرارة وكن آمنا"، في الفترة من شهر مارس إلى سبتمبر 2015 وتضمنت عددا من المبادرات بما في ذلك دورات تدريبية للإرتقاء بالوعي العام وإجراء إختبارات مستوى رطوبة الجسم وفحوصات صحية لأولئك الذين لديهم تاريخ سابق من الأمراض المرتبطة بارتفاع درجات الحرارة وأيضا الموظفين الذين يتناولون الأدوية. تم أيضا عن نطاق واسع، توزيع كتيبات التوعية حول مخاطر التعرض للحرارة والرسوم البيانية لمستويات رطوبة الجسم، فضلا عن منح الموظفين الفرصة لإرسال إقتراحاتهم لنيل جائزة خاصة بالحملة  ضمن جوائز برنامج الإقتراحات في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم. وحضر ما مجموعه 3799 موظفا الدورات التدريبية التوعوية وقام الفريق الطبي في الشركة بإجراء 8,761 فحصا لمستوى رطوبة الجسم.

في معرض تعليقه على مدى أهمية البرنامج، قال سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة :"تتمثل إحدى القيم الرئيسية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في قيمة "الحماية"التي تعطي الأولوية، ضمن مجالات أخرى، لتوفير الصحة والسلامة في مكان العمل، خاصة وأن بيئة العمل في شركتنا قد تشكل تحديا خاصا خلال أشهر الصيف، ومن ثم يكون من الضروري العمل وفق  نهج استباقي لضمان سلامة وراحة موظفينا".

وفي إطار سعادته البالغة بالنجاح المتواصل للبرنامج، أضاف سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان بالقول  :"العام 2015  هو العام العاشر على التوالي الذي نحقق فيه النسبة "الصفرية" من الوقت المفقود جراء الإصابات الناجمة عن  الأمراض المرتبطة بارتفاع درجات الحرارة، وهو النجاح الذي يمثل دليلا قويا على المستوى المرتفع لمشاركة الموظفين في هذه المبادرة والكفاءة الشاملة لتركيز إهتمامنا على تلك المشكلات بطرقة بناءة وعملية".