2015 EGA summer training programme commences

Annual initiative provides valuable work placement opportunities to Emirati students

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) has commenced its annual Summer Training Programme for 2015, providing valuable work experience opportunities to Emirati students from high schools and universities across the UAE. Running from 2 to 27 August, the initiative places students in departments within EGA that are relevant to their field of study, with internships typically covering divisions such as Human Resources, Finance and Marketing.

As one of the largest industrial organisations in the UAE outside the oil and gas sector, EGA contributes both to diversifying the UAE economy and providing long-term career opportunities for Emiratis. The annual EGA Summer Training Programme forms an integral part of EGA’s Emiratization strategy and aims to enhance understanding of the aluminium industry among young UAE Nationals while training them in business ethics and practices. Furthermore, the programme enables EGA to identify and nurture high performing students as part of EGA’s long-term goal to increase the proportion of UAE Nationals within its workforce.

“Our Summer Training Programme reflects EGA’s commitment to fulfilling the vision of the UAE’s leaders, who believe that improving the skills of Emiratis is key to accelerating the prosperity of the nation,” said Elham Al-Qasim (Executive Vice President: Human Capital at EGA). She continued, “Many previous participants in the EGA Summer Training programme currently hold senior positions within EGA, demonstrating the significant opportunities that our work placements can offer in the long-term.”

True to tradition, the 2015 EGA Summer Training Programme began with a special orientation session where the students were given a comprehensive and in-depth introduction to EGA’s major operations, including insights into its facilities and an outline of safety policies and procedures. Trainees were then assigned to a department within one of EGA’s UAE operating subsidiaries – Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”, also known as EGA Jebel Ali) or Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”, also known as EGA Al Taweelah) – based on their field of study, qualifications and skill level.

A total of 70 students took part in the EGA Summer Training Programme last year. As in previous years, participants in the 2015 EGA Summer Training Programme represent a number of educational institutions in the UAE including high schools, colleges and universities. Available to both male and female students, the EGA Summer Training Programme is also compulsory for all university students currently benefitting from the EGA Scholarship Programme, which provides sponsored study to UAE National students who then move on to a career within the organisation.

Ensuring rewarding career and development opportunities, EGA currently provides direct employment to approximately 6,900 people in the UAE. More than 1,300 employees are UAE Nationals, with Emiratis accounting for approximately 38 per cent of staff in supervisory roles and 45 per cent in corporate positions. EGA is committed to ensuring a lasting contribution to the UAE and global economies, with Emiratization being a key component of EGA’s efforts to maximise its impact on the social and economic development of the nation.

إنطلاق برنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للتدريب الصيفي 2015

المبادرة السنوية توفر فرص التدريب العملي القيمة للطلبة الإماراتيين.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: بدأت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برنامجها السنوي للتدريب الصيفي للعام 2015، بهدف توفير فرص التدريب العملي القيمة للطلاب الإماراتيين من المدارس الثانوية والجامعات من جميع أنحاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتقوم المبادرة، التي تمتد في الفترة من 2 إلى27 أغسطس، بتوزيع الطلبة على إدارات الشركة ذات الصلة بمجال دراستهم، حيث يغطي التدريب العملي عادة إدارات مثل الموارد البشرية والمالية والتسويق.

وباعتبارها واحدة من أكبر المؤسسات الصناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، تساهم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، على حد سواء، في تنويع الاقتصاد الإماراتي، وتوفير فرص العمل على المدى الطويل للمواطنين. ويشكل برنامج التدريب الصيفي السنوي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم جزءا لا يتجزأ من استراتيجية التوطين في الشركة، ويهدف إلى تعزيز مستويات فهم صناعة الألمنيوم بين الشباب المواطنين، وفي نفس الوقت تدريبهم على أخلاقيات وممارسات العمل. وعلاوة على ذلك، يمكن البرنامج  شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من إختيار ورعاية الطلاب ذوي الأداء العالي، كجزء من هدف الشركة طويل المدى، لزيادة نسبة المواطنين الإماراتيين بين صفوف موظفيها.

وقالت السيدة/ الهام القاسم، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لرأس المال البشري في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"يعكس برنامجنا للتدريب الصيفي مدى التزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتحقيق رؤية أصحاب السمو قادة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، الذين يؤمنون بأن تحسين مهارات الإماراتيين هو المفتاح لتسريع مسيرة إزدهار الأمة"، ومضت القاسم بالقول :"يشغل العديد من المشاركين السابقين في برنامج التدريب الصيفي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حاليا مناصبا عليا في الشركة، مما يدل على الفرص الكبيرة التي توفرها برامجنا للتدريب العملي، على المدى الطويل".

ووفقا للتقليد المتبع، إنطلقت أنشطة برنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للتدريب الصيفي 2015، بجلسة تعريفية وتوجيهية خاصة، تم خلالها تزويد الطلاب بمقدمة شاملة ومتعمقة حول العمليات الرئيسية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، بما في ذلك تسليط الضوء على مرافقها والخطوط العريضة لسياسات وإجراءات السلامة، ومن ثم تم توزيع المتدربين على واحدة من الإدارات ضمن الشركات التشغيلية التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ، وهى شركة دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال، المعروفة أيضا باسم  موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي) أو شركة الإمارات للألمنيوم (إيمال، المعروفة أيضا باسم موقع الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمنطقة الطويلة)، وذلك اعتمادا على مجالات دراستهم ومؤهلاتهم ومستوى مهاراتهم.

وقد شارك إجمالي 70 طالبا في برنامج التدريب الصيفي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في العام الماضي. وكما هو الحال في السنوات السابقة، مثل المشاركون في برنامج التدريب الصيفي 2015 عددا من المؤسسات التعليمية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بما في ذلك المدارس الثانوية والكليات والجامعات. ويعد برنامج التدريب الصيفي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، الذي يتاح للطلاب والطالبات على حد سواء، إلزاميا لجميع طلاب الجامعة الإماراتيين الذين يستفيدون حاليا من برنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للمنح الدراسية، حيث ينتقلون لاحقا للعمل في الشركة.

وفي إطار حرصها على ضمان فرص التوظيف والتنمية المجزية، توفر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حاليا التوظيف المباشر لما يقرب من 6900 موظف في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، منهم أكثر من 1300 موظف من مواطني دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، يشغلون ما يقرب من 38 في المائة من المناصب الإشرافية و 45 في المائة من الوظائف الإدارية. وتلتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بضمان تقديم مساهمة دائمة لإقتصاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والاقتصادات العالمية، حيث يمثل التوطين عنصرا رئيسيا ضمن جهود الشركة لتعظيم تأثيرها على مسيرة التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للدولة.