EGA ranked in top 100 companies in the leadership stakes

UAE-based aluminium giant featured in BCG Global Challengers 2014 report

United Arab Emirates: Having been formed mid-2013, Emirates Global Aluminium PJSC (“EGA”) is one of the youngest businesses in the global aluminium industry. It’s also one of the largest – with an annual production capacity of 2.4 million tonnes, EGA ranks among the top five primary aluminium producers in the world, by volume.

Jointly owned in equal partnership by Mubadala Development Company of Abu Dhabi and Investment Corporation of Dubai, EGA is built on a 40-year legacy of excellence provided by its core operating assets – Dubai Aluminium PJSC (“DUBAL”) and Emirates Aluminium Company Limited PJSC (“EMAL”). Attesting to this, the company’s leading position in the aluminium industry, global ranking and contribution to the economy have been recognised by independent authorities – this time through EGA’s inclusion in The Boston Consulting Group (“BCG”) Global Challengers 2014 report, which highlights 100 companies that are vying for leadership of key industries and driving global economic growth.

More than 90 per cent of EGA’s annual production is exported to over 350 customers in almost 70 countries around the world, its key markets being Asia, the Middle East and North Africa region, Europe and the Americas. The UAE-based company also owns Guinea Alumina Corporation (“GAC”), a strategic bauxite mine and alumina refinery development project in Guinea, West Africa; and has offices located abroad – together giving EGA a global footprint.

The BCG Global Challengers 2014 report, the sixth of its kind since 2006, focuses on the innovative business models, strategies and challenges arising from emerging markets; and is the outcome of an analytical study into how the companies in the report a rapidly gaining success in developing capabilities beyond low-cost manufacturing. As with the prior editions, the BCG Global Challengers 2014 report identifies 100 fast-growing companies that hail from emerging markets yet are making waves in the global economy through their international success.

EGA is one of six companies from the Middle East included in the 2014 ‘global challenger’ list (compared to four companies cited in the report last year). Three of the companies listed come from the UAE – the others being Etisalat and Etihad Airways, both of which are well established businesses that have operated for several years. “EGA’s inclusion in the BCG Global Challengers 2014 report is very pleasing, especially given how young our company is,” says Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of EGA). “It reflects, among other things, the relevance of our commitment to innovation and talent as key drivers of our corporate growth aspirations.”

"الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" ضمن قائمة أهم 100 شركة تنافسا على الريادة العالمية

حسب "تقرير المتنافسين العالميين 2014"

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: مع تأسيسها منتصف العام 2013، تعتبر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم واحدة من أحدث الشركات بمجال صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية، إلا أنها أيضاً واحدة من أضخم شركات الألمنيوم بطاقة إنتاجية سنوية تبلغ 2.4 مليون طن ، ما يضعها ضمن قائمة أكبر خمس شركات للألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، من حيث الإنتاج.

كما أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، المملوكة مُناصفة لكل من شركة مبادلة للتنمية من أبوظبي ومؤسسة دبي للإستثمارات الحكومية من دبي، تأسست على إرث من الإمتياز ترسخ على مدار أربعين عاماً، كثمرة لدمج شركة دبي للألمنيوم، دوبال، وشركة الإمارات للألمنيوم، إيمال. وفي تأكيد جديد على إرث الإمتياز هذا، حظيت المكانة الرائدة التي تتمتع بها الشركة على صعيد صناعة الألمنيوم، وإسهاماتها الكبرى في الإقتصاد، على تقدير هيئات عالمية مستقلة، جاء هذه المرة عبر إختيار شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ضمن "تقرير المتنافسين العالميين 2014" الصادر عن مجموعة "بوسطن كونسلتينج جروب"، والذي يسلط الضوء على أهم 100 شركة تتنافس على مرتبة الريادة بالقطاعات الصناعية الرئيسية، وتقود قاطرة النمو الإقتصادي العالمي.

وتقوم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتصدير أكثر من 90% من إنتاجها السنوي إلى أكثر من 350 عميلاً في نحو 70 دولة حول العالم، وتضم قائمة أسواقها الرئيسية كل من أسيا والشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا وأوروبا والأمريكتين. وتمتلك الشركة، التي تتخذ من دولة الإمارات العربية المُتحدة مقراً لها، مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن GAC، وهو مشروع لتعدين البوكسيت ومصفاة للألومينا في غرب إفريقيا، فضلاً عن مكاتب خارجية، ما يمنحها تواجداً عالمياً بارزاً.

ويركز "تقرير المتنافسين العالميين 2014" لمجموعة "بوسطن كونسلتينج جروب"، وهو السادس من نوعه منذ العام 2006، على نماذج وإستراتيجيات الأعمال المبتكرة وتحديات الأسواق الناشئة، كما أنه خلاصة دراسة تحليلية حول نجاح الشركات الواردة في التقرير في تطوير قدرات وإمكانيات تتجاوز التصنيع منخفض التكاليف. وكما في نسخته السابقة، يحدد "تقرير المتنافسين العالميين 2014" لمجموعة "بوسطن كونسلتينج جروب"، قائمة بأسرع 100 شركة نمواً، تتحدر من الأسواق الناشئة إلا أن لها أثر كبير على الإقتصاد العالمي من خلال نجاحاتها الدولية.

وتعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم واحدة من بين ست شركات في الشرق الأوسط ضمها "تقرير المتنافسين العالميين 2014" لمجموعة "بوسطن كونسلتينج جروب"، (مقارنة مع أربع شركات في الشرق الأوسط في نسخة العام الماضي من التقرير)، حيث كانت ثلاث شركات من أصل ستة من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهي،- إلى جانب شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم-، إتصالات وطيران الإتحاد، وكلتاهما شركات قوية وراسخة زاولت أعمالها لسنوات عدة.

وقال سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المُنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"يمثل إختيار شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ضمن "تقرير المتنافسين العالميين 2014" لمجموعة "بوسطن كونسلتينج جروب"، أمراً مبهجاً، خاصة وأنها شركة حديثة، ويعكس، من بين العديد من الجوانب الأخرى، مدى إلتزام شركتنا تجاه الإبتكار وتعزيز المواهب كعناصر أساسية ترتكز عليها تطلعاتنا المستقبلية للنمو".