EGA presence underlines industry commitment at ARABAL 2014

Regional industry conference comes to a close in Bahrain

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) demonstrated its unwavering commitment to the development of the Middle East as a global aluminium hub through its role as Silver Sponsor of the 18th Arab International Aluminium Conference (“ARABAL 2014”) staged in Manama, Bahrain from 25 to 27 November.

Through its midstream assets, EGA has been involved in ARABAL since the inaugural event in 1983. Its operating assets – Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL”) and Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL”) – have hosted five ARABAL events in the UAE. DUBAL hosting the event in Dubai on four occasions (including ARABAL’s 25th anniversary in 2008) and EMAL hosted the event in Abu Dhabi in 2013.

This year, the UAE aluminium giant used the event to showcase its vision, technology and brand values. Abdulla Kalban (Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of EGA) was a key speaker during a panel discussion by the CEOs of GCC smelters; and Walid Al Attar (Chief Marketing Officer at EGA) delivered a keynote address on “Why the aluminium markets stand at a crossroad - tough challenges and critical decisions”. In his capacity as Chairman of the Gulf Aluminium Council (“GAC”) EHS Committee, Frank Briganti (Senior Vice President, EHSFS at EGA) delivered a presentation on Environment and Sustainability in the GCC Aluminium Industry; and hosted the GAC Environment and Safety Awards.

“EGA’s commitment to the advancement of the global aluminium industry and the role of the Middle East as an important hub across the value chain is a vital part of our philosophy,”said Kalban. “EGA is the fifth largest primary aluminium producer in the world and currently accounts for about 50 per cent of the total production in the GCC region. This, together with our investments in upstream industry, underscores our vested interest in promoting the operational excellence and competitiveness of the GCC smelters to the rest of the world.”

Hosted and organised by Aluminium Bahrain BSC (“ALBA”), ARABAL 2014 once again attracted hundreds of delegates, including many prominent decision-makers in the aluminium industry.

عبر مشاركتها بمؤتمر"عربال 2014" الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ملتزمة تجاه تعزيز مكانة المنطقة كمركز عالمي رئيسي للألمنيوم

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: إستعرضت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مدى إلتزامها الراسخ تجاه تعزيز مكانة منطقة الشرق الأوسط كمركز عالمي رئيسي لصناعة الألمنيوم، عبر مشاركتها كراعي فضي لفعاليات الدورة الثامنة عشر للمؤتمر والمعرض العربي الدولي للألمنيوم (عربال 2014)، التي إستضافتها العاصمة البحرينية، المنامة في الفترة من 25 إلى 27 نوفمبر.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وعبر أصولها التشغيلية الرئيسية المتمثلة في شركة دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال) وشركة الإمارات للألمنيوم (إيمال)، شاركت بفعاليات عربال منذ دورته الإفتتاحية في العام 1983، حيث إستضافت دوبال أربع من دورات المؤتمر في دبي، بما في ذلك الذكرى الـ25 على تدشين المؤتمر، في العام 2008، فيما إستضافت إيمال فعاليات المؤتمر في أبوظبي في العام 2013.

وإستغل عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي تواجده بالمؤتمر لتسليط الضوء على رؤيته وتقنياته وقيم علامته التجارية، كما ألقى سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب و الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، كلمة رئيسية خلال الجلسة النقاشية التي شارك فيها الرؤساء التنفيذيين لمصاهر الألمنيوم الخليجية، كما ألقى السيد/ وليد العطار، الرئيس التنفيذي للتسويق بالشركة، كلمة بعنوان "لماذا تقف أسواق الألمنيوم عند مفترق طرق- تحديات صعبة وقرارات حيوية"، فيما قام السيد/ فرانك بريجانتي، نائب أول الرئيس للبيئة والصحة والسلامة والأمن والإطفاء، ورئيس مجلس إدارة لجنة البيئة والصحة والسلامة التابعة للمجلس الخليجي للألمنيوم، بتقديم عرض حول البيئة والإستدامة بصناعة الألمنيوم الخليجية، كما إستضاف حفل جوائز البيئة والسلامة التابعة للمجلس الخليجي للألمنيوم.