EGA’s Al Taweelah alumina refinery enters final stages of commissioning

Steam delivery from EGA’s nearby power plant begins, and final hot water testing of key plant infrastructure now underway

First alumina expected during the first half of this year

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today announced that commissioning of its new Al Taweelah alumina refinery has entered its final stages.

Commissioning is the detailed process of testing equipment and systems in a new plant before start-up. First production from Al Taweelah alumina refinery is expected during the first half of this year.

EGA has now begun hot water testing of the Digestion section of the alumina refinery. Digestion is the first of four successive stages of the Bayer process through which bauxite ore is refined into alumina, the feedstock for aluminium smelters. Digestion involves the heating of a slurry of crushed bauxite and caustic soda to 270 degrees centigrade using steam.

Testing equipment and pipelines with hot water under high pressure simulates normal operating conditions and is the last step to ensure a facility is ready for process chemicals to be introduced.

Commissioning of the four major sections of Al Taweelah alumina refinery is being completed in a carefully-planned order, with the final stages of the Bayer process ready for production first. Commissioning of the last process stage, Calcination, was completed in December.

Earlier this month, EGA’s nearby Al Taweelah power plant started delivering steam to the new alumina refinery through new connecting pipelines. Supplying steam from EGA’s existing power plant, which was built to provide electricity and steam for EGA’s Al Taweelah aluminium smelter, improves the alumina refinery’s overall energy efficiency.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “We are making good progress with the complex process of commissioning Al Taweelah alumina refinery, in line with the meticulous planning and preparations which began even before construction started. We are looking forward to beginning production and ramping-up of this project, which along with our Guinea mine will transform EGA into an integrated global aluminium producer.”

Al Taweelah alumina refinery, which has a total budgeted project cost of approximately $3.3 billion, is the first in the UAE and only the second in the Middle East. EGA is also building a bauxite mine and export facilities in the Republic of Guinea, where first exports are expected during the second half of 2019.

Al Taweelah alumina refinery and the Guinea mining project expand EGA’s business upstream in the aluminium value chain and internationally. The projects will create new revenue streams for EGA and secure the competitive supply of natural resources the UAE’s aluminium industry needs.

Once production is fully ramped-up, Al Taweelah alumina refinery is expected to produce some 2 million tonnes of alumina per year and meet 40 per cent of EGA’s alumina requirements, replacing some imports.

Commissioning Al Taweelah alumina refinery requires more than 80,000 separate actions to be completed. The new plant contains some 9,500 instruments, 222 tanks, enough piping to stretch from Abu Dhabi to Muscat, and cabling that would reach from Abu Dhabi to Cairo.

مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا تدخل المرحلة الأخيرة في استعداداتها لبدء التشغيل الإنتاجي

  • بدأ إمداد المصفاة بالبخار من محطة الطاقة المجاورة مع إطلاق الاختبار النهائي لأجهزتها بالماء الساخن
  • باكورة إنتاج الألومينا متوقعة في النصف الأول من العام الجاري

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم عن وصولها إلى المرحلة النهائية من أعمال تجهيز مصفاة الطويلة لتكرير الألومينا لبدء تشغيلها الإنتاجي.

تعد مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا أحد مشاريع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الضخمة، وتتطلب عملية تجهيزها للتشغيل الإنتاجي تنفيذ مجموعة من العمليات الجزئية لاختبار معداتها وأنظمتها قبل بدء تشغيلها الفعلي المقرر خلال النصف الأول من هذا العام. وتعمل الشركة حالياً على اختبار قسم عملية الهضم في المصفاة باستخدام الماء الساخن. وتمثل عملية الهضم المرحلة الأولى من أصل أربعة مراحل من طريقة باير لإنتاج الألومينا. يتم إنتاج الألومينا من خام البوكسيت، وهو المادة الخام لإنتاج الألمنيوم. وتتطلب العملية تسخين خليط من البوكسيت المسحوق مع الصودا الكاوية إلى حرارة 270 درجة مئوية باستخدام البخار الساخن.

وتجري عملية اختبار تجهيزات المصفاة وخطوط الأنابيب فيها بتمرير المياه الساخنة تحت ضغط مرتفع بطريقة تحاكي ظروف التشغيل الإنتاجية، وتعتبر هذه العملية الخطوة الأخيرة للتأكد من جاهزية معدات المنشأة لاستقبال المواد الكيميائية الداخلة في عملية الإنتاج.

وتجري شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عمليات إعداد الأقسام الأربعة الرئيسية في مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا وفق ترتيب مخطط بعناية، بالوصول إلى المرحلة النهائية في طريقة باير، وذلك بعد اكتمال مرحلة التشغيل التجريبي لمرحلة المعالجة الأخيرة وهي "التكليس"، في شهر ديسمبر الماضي.

وفي وقت سابق من الشهر الجاري، بدأت محطة الطويلة لتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بضخ البخار الذي تحتاجه مصفاة الألومينا الجديدة عبر أنابيب تربط بينهما. وتنتج محطة الطاقة الكهرباء والبخار اللازمين لعمل مصهر الألمنيوم التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، إلا أن اعتماد مصفاة الألومينا على البخار الذي تنتجه محطة الطاقة يرفع أيضاً الكفاءة الإجمالية لاستهلاكها من الطاقة.

وقال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "يشكل إنجاز اليوم تقدماً جيداً في عملية الإعداد المعقدة لمصفاة الطويلة للألومينا مع اقتراب الموعد المقرر لبدء التشغيل الإنتاجي، وذلك وفق الجدول الزمني المتسلسل الذي رسمناه قبل بدء مرحلة البناء. ونتطلع الآن إلى الانطلاق لمرحلة الإنتاج بدعم من منجم الشركة في غينيا لتصبح شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إحدى أكبر الشركات المتكاملة لإنتاج الألمنيوم في العالم".

تبلغ التكلفة الإجمالية لمصفاة الطويلة للألومينا نحو 3.3 مليار دولار، وهي أول مصفاة للألومينا في دولة الإمارات والثانية على مستوى منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وتعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضاً على تطوير مشروع تشييد منجم للبوكسيت ومرافق التصدير التابعة له في جمهورية غينيا غرب أفريقيا، ويتوقع أن تصل أولى صادرات البوكسيت من المنجم إلى دولة الإمارات خلال النصف الثاني من العام 2019.

ويأتي مشروعي مصفاة الطويلة ومنجم البوكسيت في غينيا في إطار التوجه الاستراتيجي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لتوسعة أعمالها ضمن سلسلة قيمة صناعة الألمنيوم، فضلاً عن ترسيخ مكانتها على الصعيد الدولي. ويشكل المشروعان أيضاً مصدراً جديداً للدخل للشركة ويؤمن لها إمدادات المواد الأولية التي تحتاجها صناعة الألمنيوم في دولة الإمارات بصورة منتظمة وبأسعار تنافسية.

ومع دخول مشروع مصفاة الطويلة حيز التشغيل الكامل من المتوقع أن تنتج المصفاة نحو مليوني طن من الألومينا سنوياً، ما يلبي 40% من احتياجات الشركة، الأمر الذي سيقلل من الاعتماد على الواردات

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن تشغيل المصفاة بأكملها يتطلب الانتهاء من بعض الإجراءات على حدة والتي يتجاوز عددها 80000 إجراء، وتتضمن مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا نحو 9,500 مُعَدَّة و222 خزاناً، وعدد من الأنابيب يكفي لوصل أبو ظبي بمسقط، وعدد من الكابلات يمتد طولها من أبو ظبي إلى القاهرة.