Industrialisation and economic diversification

Emirates Global Aluminium is the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas. For nearly 40 years, we have played an important role in the country’s industrialisation and economic diversification.

EGA accounts for 4 per cent of the world’s primary aluminium production and almost half of the production from the GCC.

EGA makes a substantial contribution to the economic diversification goals of ‘UAE Vision 2021’ through our own production, our growing supply to UAE downstream companies and spending in the local supply chain.

An economic impact analysis commissioned by EGA found that the UAE aluminium sector, with EGA at its heart, generates more than $5 billion annually in the UAE economy - 1.4 per cent of total Gross Domestic Product or 1.8 per cent of the non-oil economy.

The analysis considered the ‘direct impact’ of EGA’s own activity and that of the UAE companies that make products using EGA’s metal, the ‘indirect impact’ of activity stimulated by the sector’s purchase of goods and services from UAE suppliers, and the ‘induced impact’ of the spending of wages earned by workers in the sector in the UAE economy, such as on housing and leisure.

According to the analysis, for every $1 of GDP generated by the aluminium sector itself, a further US $1.26 of activity is supported elsewhere in the UAE economy.

The UAE aluminium sector is estimated to support over 60,000 jobs. This is one-in-100 jobs in the country. For every individual working in the aluminium sector itself, a further five workers are supported in other parts of the UAE economy.

التصنيع والتنوع الاقتصادي

تعتبر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز. وأسهمت الشركة على مدى 40 عاماً تقريباً بدورٍ فاعل في زيادة عمليات التصنيع وتعزيز التنوع الاقتصادي في الدولة

تساهم الشركة بنسبة 4% من الإنتاج العالمي للألمنيوم الأولي وبنحو نصف الكمية المنتجة في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

وتساهم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في تحقيق أهداف التنوع الاقتصادي التي حددتها "رؤية الإمارات 2021" عبر منتجاتها التي تلبي الطلب المتزايد من الصناعات التحويلية وتزايد الإنفاق ضمن سلسلة التوريد المحلية.

وقد تبين في الدراسة المستقلة التي أجرتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أن قطاع الألمنيوم الإماراتي، وفي مقدمته شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، يحقق للإقتصاد الإماراتي أكثر من 5 مليار دولار سنويًا، أي ما يعادل 1.4 بالمائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي أو 1.8 بالمائة من الاقتصاد غير النفطي.

وقد تناولت الدراسة"التأثيرات المباشرة" لنشاط الشركة الخاص والتأثيرات المباشرة لعملاء الشركة المحليين، فضلاً عن "التأثيرات غير المباشرة" للنشاط التي تحفزه مشتريات القطاع من السلع والخدمات من الموردين المحليين ، والتأثيرات المرفقة من الأجور التي يحصل عليها الموظفين من قبل قطاع الألمنيوم وسلسلة توريده ، حيث ينفق الموظفون جزءاً منها في متاجر التجزئة المحلية والترفيه والمنافذ الأخرى.

وقد أظهرت الدراسة أنه مقابل كل دولار واحد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي المحقق من قطاع الألمنيوم، تم دعم 1.26 دولار أخرى في قطاعات أخرى في الاقتصاد.

وتشير التقديرات إلى أن قطاع الألمنيوم الإماراتي يدعم ما يزيد عن 60,000 وظيفة،  أي ما يعادل وظيفة واحدة في كل 100 وظيفة داخل الدولة. وكل فرد يعمل في قطاع الألمنيوم ذاته يدعم خمسة عمال آخرين في مجالات أخرى في الاقتصاد الإماراتي.